shortshort
COMPARISON

Chopcast alternative: shortshort vs Chopcast.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT. Below, side by side with Chopcast: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs Chopcast: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT. 30 minutes are free, no card.

Chopcast turns podcasts, webinars and YouTube videos into shorts, with a done-for-you service alongside. It may fit better for square or landscape exports; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here; Chopcast's site does not say
Free plan
30 credits once here; Chopcast's site does not say
Largest file
2 GB per file here; Chopcast's site does not say

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Priced by the minute of source

€0.025 per minute on Starter, before VAT, whatever the number of shorts, up to 20 per video on the Studio plan. 30 minutes are free at sign-up, no card.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The Chopcast column is derived from Chopcast's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. chopcast.io lands on a done-for-you service page, and its pricing page now redirects to a meeting booking page: no self-serve price, allowance or trial is published.

CriterionshortshortChopcast
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file size, 12 hours at mostOne file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours, on every plan; below that, how many hours fit in 2 GB depends on the bitrate.No stated limit, 10 min to 2 h recommended [1]Chopcast states no particular length limit but recommends keeping uploads between 10 minutes and 2 hours for the best auto-generated clips.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.Not stated on their site
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Upload MP4 or MP3, or paste a YouTube or LinkedIn link [2]Accepts video URLs, MP4 and MP3 files; tool pages mention links from YouTube or LinkedIn. Cloud drive import is not stated.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.Not stated on their siteFace tracking or auto reframe is not stated; the tool offers speaker based clips, which split clips by speaker from the audio.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, editable dynamic captions [4] [5]Dynamic captions editable in size, color, font and position; SRT export and a burn-in toggle. Template count and word highlighting are not stated.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16, 1:1, 16:9 and custom dimensions [6]The help center covers 9:16 vertical and 1:1 square; tool pages add 16:9 and a resize tool with common ratios or custom dimensions.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.Not stated on their siteNo output resolution figure is given; clip quality depends on the maximum resolution of the source video.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes, a minimalist editor with text-based trimming [8] [6]Clips are fully editable: trim by deleting text, make custom clips, resize, and edit captions and template colors.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Editable template colors, brand templates via service [9] [10] [11]Template colors are editable in the tool; the Standard Templates library of intros and outros comes with the done-for-you service, not the self-serve tool.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.Not stated on their siteDownloads are MP4, MOV or WMV video plus SRT or TXT transcripts; no Premiere, DaVinci, XML or EDL export is mentioned.
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Not stated on their siteNo dubbing or caption translation is stated; caption languages conflict, 10 or more on tool pages but English only in the help center.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Not stated on their site
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Not stated on their site
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.Not offered in the tool [15] [16]Chopcast states it does not publish on your behalf; posting to LinkedIn and YouTube is part of its separate done-for-you service only.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginNot stated on their site
APINoneNot stated on their site
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free to use badge, no allowance stated [8] [17]Tool pages say Free to use and Start free, but no free minutes, trial length or watermark rule is published since the pricing page became a booking page.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Upload minutes per cycle, prices no longer published [18] [17]Upload minutes are the length of the videos you upload and reset each subscription cycle; the pricing page now redirects to a booking page for the done-for-you service.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each Chopcast cell, as read on their site
Longest video
"There is no particular limit on the length of the uploaded video, but we recommend keeping it to more than 10 minutes and less than 2 hours for best auto-generated clips." [1]
Largest file
Not stated on their site.
How the video gets in
"You can upload Video URLs, MP4, and MP3 files." Tool pages (e.g. https://www.chopcast.io/tools/add-subtitles-to-video) add: "Directly upload your video to Chopcast or paste a link from platforms like YouTube or LinkedIn." Cloud drives: Not stated. [2]
Crop follows the face
Face tracking / auto reframe: Not stated. Only "Speaker based clips": "The tool will analyze your audio, identify different speakers and generate separate clips" (audio-based speaker segmentation, not visual tracking). [3]
Automatic captions
"Dynamic captions" that are "100% editable, giving you full control over their look and position"; "Users can freely adjust the size, color, and font of the generated captions"; subtitles can be exported without burn-in: "Right next to the MP4 download button, toggle the subtitles burning off". Template count and word-level highlighting: Not stated. [4] [5]
Aspect ratios
"Select 9:16 for vertical videos or 1:1 for square videos" (help center); https://www.chopcast.io/tools/resize-video cites "YouTube's 16:9 or Instagram's 9:16"; https://www.chopcast.io/tools/resize-aspect-ratio says "Choose from a wide range of commonly used aspect ratios, or manually input custom dimensions." [6]
Export
No output resolution is stated; the help center only says "the quality of the generated clips will rely heavily on the maximum resolution available from the source video." [7]
Manual editor
Yes: "chopcast's minimalist editor"; tools described as "100% editable"; "Trim video by text" ("Remove parts of your video by deleting/editing text"); help tutorials "How to make custom clips using chopcast" and "How to edit clips using chopcast"; resize from a clip: "Click Edit on the clip you want to resize", then "Resize". [8] [6]
Brand presets
No brand kit is stated for the self-serve tool. The "Standard Templates" library of "free intros, main sections and outros" belongs to the done-for-you service: they "are included for free in any DFY subscription plan". On the tool side, template colors are "100% editable". [9] [10] [11]
Edit export
No XML/EDL/Premiere/DaVinci export stated. "For each video that is processed with Chopcast, a .txt or .srt file can be downloaded"; video exports as MP4, and "MP4 for social platforms, MOV for Apple devices or WMV for Windows" on https://www.chopcast.io/tools/export-full-length-videos. [12]
Translation or dubbing
No dubbing stated. Caption languages are contradictory: the tool page says "We support English, Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, and Ukrainian subtitles and captions" and "over 10 languages", but the help center says "Our product only offers English language captioning". Translation of captions: Not stated. [13] [14]
Virality score
Not stated on their site.
B-roll, music, titles
Not stated on their site.
Publishes to social
Not in the tool: "No, we are not a social media management agency. We create content for social media, but we do not publish them or engage with people on your behalf". Posting is part of the done-for-you service only: its page says "We write captions + distribute on LinkedIn and YouTube", and its plans list "Social posts (YT only)", "Social posts (LI + YT)" or "Social posts (3 channels)". [15] [16]
Team seats
Not stated on their site.
API
Not stated on their site.
Free plan
No free allowance is stated any more: tool pages carry "Free to use" and a "Start free" button, but no free minutes, trial length or watermark rule is published since the pricing page redirects to a meeting-booking page. [8] [17]
How you pay
Upload minutes: "Upload minutes is the total duration of the videos you are uploading. If you run out of upload minutes, you can wait until the balance is reset at the start of your new subscription cycle, or upgrade your plan." No self-serve price or minute allowance is published any more: the pricing page redirects to a meeting-booking page for the done-for-you service. [18] [17]

Chopcast pricing (checked 16 October 2026)

Chopcast's site, read on 16 October 2026, has no pricing page. shortshort: €0.025 per minute on Starter, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

Chopcast

No plan table is stated on Chopcast's pricing page.

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: Chopcast or shortshort

shortshort for the cuts and the framing; Chopcast when you need square or landscape exports. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • Framing that follows the face, with automatic zoomsFace and scene tracking move the 9:16 crop; automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early access. Connect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.; Chopcast: not offered in the tool.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where Chopcast may fit better

  • Square or landscape exports [6]9:16, 1:1, 16:9 and custom dimensions. The help center covers 9:16 vertical and 1:1 square; tool pages add 16:9 and a resize tool with common ratios or custom dimensions.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

Chopcast alternative: questions people ask

How much does Chopcast cost?

On Chopcast: upload minutes per cycle, prices no longer published. Upload minutes are the length of the videos you upload and reset each subscription cycle; the pricing page now redirects to a booking page for the done-for-you service (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). For Chopcast plans, see their site. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

What is a free alternative to Chopcast?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good Chopcast alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. Chopcast may fit better if you need square or landscape exports, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from Chopcast.

How long can a video be on Chopcast and on shortshort?

On shortshort, one file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours on every plan; the file size is what usually limits, and how many hours fit depends on the bitrate. On Chopcast: no stated limit, 10 min to 2 h recommended. Chopcast states no particular length limit but recommends keeping uploads between 10 minutes and 2 hours for the best auto-generated clips (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How do captions compare between Chopcast and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On Chopcast: yes, editable dynamic captions (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

Can I try shortshort before leaving Chopcast?

Yes. The 30 free credits cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video, no card needed. Your upload and drafts stay private until you export: an exported short is published to the community with its full source video and the transcript of the short, unless your account is set to keep it out, which every paid plan can do.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.