shortshort
COMPARISON

Klap alternative: shortshort vs Klap.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT. Below, side by side with Klap: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs Klap: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT. 30 minutes are free, no card.

Klap makes TikToks, Reels and Shorts from long videos in one click. It may fit better for longer videos, a crop that follows whoever is speaking, square or landscape exports; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here, $29 a month, Basic at Klap
Free plan
30 credits once here, trial only at Klap
Largest file
2 GB per file here, 2 GB, no limit via URL at Klap

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The Klap column is derived from Klap's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. Their pricing page opens on yearly billing; the monthly prices are read from its Monthly toggle.

CriterionshortshortKlap
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file size, 12 hours at mostOne file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours, on every plan; below that, how many hours fit in 2 GB depends on the bitrate.4 h per upload [1]Stated on a tool page rather than the pricing page; the API docs give a 5 h input cap for video-to-shorts tasks.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.2 GB per file, no limit via URL [1]Uploads are capped at 2 GB per file; importing from a URL removes the upload limit entirely, according to the tool page.
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Upload or link: YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, Drive [1]Uploads MP4, MOV, AVI, MKV, WMV and FLV; URL import from YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, Google Drive, Facebook and Dailymotion.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.Yes, AI Reframe follows the active speaker [2]AI Reframe 2 focuses on the active speaker face, with split-screen, picture-in-picture and 3 or 4 screen podcast layouts.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, 52 languages, keyword highlights [1]Auto-captions claimed at 98% accuracy with animated keyword highlights; the number of caption templates is not stated.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16, 1:1 and 16:9 [3]9:16 for TikTok, Reels and Shorts, 1:1 for feed posts, 16:9 for YouTube.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.Up to 4K, per their Opus Clip comparison [4]Their Klap vs Opus Clip table gives 4k as the maximum export quality; the API docs list 1080x1920 as a default output size.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes, editor with reframing, captions, templates [5]A full AI editor plus a transcript editor to refine clips.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Yes, brand kit per workspace, paid plans [6]Logo, fonts, colors and caption style applied automatically to every clip; each workspace has its own kit; brand kits come with paid plans.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.Not stated on their site
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Yes, captions in 52 languages plus audio translation [1]Klap says it can translate the audio and re-render the shorts in different languages with one click.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes, 0 to 100 score on every clip [2]
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Yes, auto B-roll and B-roll layers in the editor [4]Auto B-roll is ticked in their Opus Clip comparison table, and the editor on every plan lets you import your own media and layer B-roll.
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.Yes, share and schedule to 4 platforms [7]Direct sharing and scheduling to TikTok, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn; all plans include unlimited social accounts.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginYes, workspaces with roles, on paid plans [6]Team workspaces with role-based access for admins, editors and viewers; Pro+ is labelled for teams and paid plans add team seats.
APINoneYes, usage-based Video API and an MCP server [8] [9] [10]API billed per operation, from USD 0.32. MCP server with 18 tools, added by URL with a Klap sign-in, on your plan; Klap says Claude users can also add it from Connectors.
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.One free video, no card needed [7]No free plan on the pricing page; the homepage offers one free video with no credit card, and Klap says it never adds a watermark.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Clips per month, 100 to 1000 [11]Only pay for clips you generate: 100, 300 or 1000 clips a month depending on plan; credits scale with video length.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each Klap cell, as read on their site
Longest video
Up to 4 hours per upload ("supports source videos up to 4 hours long") [1]
Largest file
Up to 2GB per file; URL import "removes the upload limit entirely" [1]
How the video gets in
File upload (MP4, MOV, AVI, MKV, WMV, FLV) or URL from YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, Google Drive, Facebook, Dailymotion [1]
Crop follows the face
Yes: AI Reframe 2 "focuses on the active speaker face"; speaker tracking; multi-layout split-screen, picture-in-picture, 3- or 4-screen podcast layouts [2]
Automatic captions
Auto-captions with "98% accuracy" and "Animated keyword highlights", in 52 languages; template count not stated [1]
Aspect ratios
9:16 for TikTok/Reels/Shorts, 1:1 for feed, 16:9 for YouTube [3]
Export
Klap column of their Klap vs Opus Clip table: "Export Quality (max)" "4k" (page "Updated as of May 13, 2026") [4]
Manual editor
Yes: "Full AI editor with reframing, captions, and templates" [5]
Brand presets
Yes: brand kit (logo, fonts, colors, caption style) applied automatically to every clip; "Each workspace has its own kit" [6]
Edit export
Not stated on their site.
Translation or dubbing
Captions in 52 languages; "translate the audio and re-render the shorts in different languages with one click" [1]
Virality score
Yes, "Virality Score (0-100)" on every clip [2]
B-roll, music, titles
"Auto B-roll" is ticked in the Klap column of their Klap vs Opus Clip table; FAQ: "Every Klap plan includes the full editor: import your own media, layer B-roll" [4]
Publishes to social
Yes: "Directly share your new video clips on your social media channels (TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, and LinkedIn) and schedule them in" [7]
Team seats
Yes: "Team workspaces with role-based access" (admins, editors, viewers); "Paid plans add bulk processing, brand kits, team seats, and API access" [6]
API
Yes, Klap Video API with usage-based pricing billed monthly: USD 0.32 per Generate Short operation, USD 0.44 per Video Input operation, USD 0.48 per Export operation. Klap also runs an MCP server, "Video clipping MCP for any agent", with "18 tools your agent can call", grouped as "Clip", "Edit", "Export" and "Publish" (for example "create_clips", "translate_clip", "export_clip", "schedule_clip"), added with one URL (for Claude Code: "claude mcp add --transport http klap https://api.klap.app/mcp/agents"); "No API key: sign in with your Klap account", "Uses your Klap plan", "Free trial included". Its page for Claude adds: "In Claude, open Customize → Connectors, search for Klap and add it." [8] [9] [10]
Free plan
No free plan listed on the pricing page; homepage: "Try for free. No credit card required." and FAQ: "You can try out Klap and create 1 video for free." [7]
How you pay
Clips per month: "Only pay for clips you generate." (100 / 300 / 1000 clips/mo); yearly toggle "Save 50%" [11]

Klap pricing (checked 24 October 2026)

Klap plans as listed on klap.app/pricing, read on 24 October 2026 [11]. Klap's cheapest plan is $29 a month, Basic: 100 clips a month, not minutes, so its price per minute cannot be compared with shortshort's €0.025 per minute, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

Klap

  • Basic$29 a month, $14 billed yearly100 clips a monthFor individualsAI clipping, unlimited social accounts, analyticsCredits scale with video length
  • Pro$79 a month, $39 billed yearly300 clips a monthFor professionals, marked PopularAI clipping, unlimited social accounts, analyticsSave 50% with yearly billing
  • Pro+$189 a month, $94 billed yearly1000 clips a monthFor teamsAI clipping, unlimited social accounts, analyticsNeed more: contact Klap via Discord
As written on their pricing page on 24 October 2026
Basic: USD 29/month monthly, or USD 14/month billed yearly
100 clips/mo. For individuals. All plans include: AI Clipping, Unlimited social accounts, Analytics
Pro: USD 79/month monthly, or USD 39/month billed yearly
300 clips/mo. For professionals, marked Popular. All plans include: AI Clipping, Unlimited social accounts, Analytics
Pro+: USD 189/month monthly, or USD 94/month billed yearly
1000 clips/mo. For teams. All plans include: AI Clipping, Unlimited social accounts, Analytics. "Need more? Let's talk!" (links to Discord)

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: Klap or shortshort

shortshort for the cuts; Klap when you need longer videos or a crop that follows whoever is speaking. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where Klap may fit better

  • Longer videos [1]4 h per upload, where shortshort is limited by its 2 GB file size. Stated on a tool page rather than the pricing page; the API docs give a 5 h input cap for video-to-shorts tasks.
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking [2]Yes, AI Reframe follows the active speaker. AI Reframe 2 focuses on the active speaker face, with split-screen, picture-in-picture and 3 or 4 screen podcast layouts.
  • Square or landscape exports [3]9:16, 1:1 and 16:9. 9:16 for TikTok, Reels and Shorts, 1:1 for feed posts, 16:9 for YouTube.
  • A crop you set by hand [5]Yes, editor with reframing, captions, templates. A full AI editor plus a transcript editor to refine clips.
  • Translation or dubbing [1]Yes, captions in 52 languages plus audio translation. Klap says it can translate the audio and re-render the shorts in different languages with one click.
  • Virality score [2]Yes, 0 to 100 score on every clip
  • B-roll, music, titles [4]Yes, auto B-roll and B-roll layers in the editor. Auto B-roll is ticked in their Opus Clip comparison table, and the editor on every plan lets you import your own media and layer B-roll.
  • Team seats [6]Yes, workspaces with roles, on paid plans. Team workspaces with role-based access for admins, editors and viewers; Pro+ is labelled for teams and paid plans add team seats.
  • API [8] [9] [10]Yes, usage-based Video API and an MCP server. API billed per operation, from USD 0.32. MCP server with 18 tools, added by URL with a Klap sign-in, on your plan; Klap says Claude users can also add it from Connectors.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

Klap alternative: questions people ask

Is Klap free?

Only as a trial. Klap's own site offers a trial rather than a lasting free plan. On Klap: One free video, no card needed. No free plan on the pricing page; the homepage offers one free video with no credit card, and Klap says it never adds a watermark (their own site, read on 24 October 2026).

How much does Klap cost?

Klap's pricing page lists 3 plans. On Klap: Basic, $29 a month, $14 billed yearly (100 clips a month); Pro, $79 a month, $39 billed yearly (300 clips a month); Pro+, $189 a month, $94 billed yearly (1000 clips a month) (their own site, read on 24 October 2026). They are listed on this page under "Klap pricing (checked 24 October 2026)". Klap's cheapest plan is $29 a month, Basic: 100 clips a month, not minutes, so its price per minute cannot be compared. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

What is a free alternative to Klap?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good Klap alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. Klap may fit better if you need longer videos, a crop that follows whoever is speaking and square or landscape exports, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from Klap.

How long can a video be on Klap and on shortshort?

On shortshort, one file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours on every plan; the file size is what usually limits, and how many hours fit depends on the bitrate. On Klap: 4 h per upload. Stated on a tool page rather than the pricing page; the API docs give a 5 h input cap for video-to-shorts tasks (their own site, read on 24 October 2026).

How do captions compare between Klap and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On Klap: yes, 52 languages, keyword highlights (their own site, read on 24 October 2026).

Can I try shortshort before leaving Klap?

Yes. The 30 free credits cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video, no card needed. Your upload and drafts stay private until you export: an exported short is published to the community with its full source video and the transcript of the short, unless your account is set to keep it out, which every paid plan can do.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.