shortshort
RESEARCH · OPEN DATA

What AI clip makers charge per minute of video.

For the 16 tools that sell by the minute, the monthly price of each listed plan divided by the minutes of long video it lets you cut into shorts; for the other 14, what they sell instead. 30 tools in all, from their own pricing pages read between 20 and 23 September 2026. It does not compare quality or features, and it uses monthly prices only. Published by the maker of shortshort, one of the tools in the index. The cases where shortshort is not the cheapest come first.

Updated Every figure sourced and datedData under CC BY 4.0

Where shortshort is not the cheapest, or loses

Computed from the same data as the table below, so the list changes when a price changes.

Free minutes every month, where shortshort gives 60 once

quso.ai (75 min), Descript (60 min), Gling (60 min), OpusClip (60 min), Reap (60 min), Vizard (60 min), 2short (30 min) and Spikes Studio (30 min) give free minutes every month; shortshort gives 60 minutes once, at sign-up. Someone whose monthly volume stays within one of these free allowances pays nothing there each month; shortshort's 60 minutes are given once, and after they are used every minute is paid. Free plans come with their own limits, such as watermarks or a lower export resolution; each tool's compare page lists them. Not counted, because their own pages say downloads on the free plan are locked or need a paid plan: Choppity (60 min a month, "Free exports carry a Choppity watermark / downloads locked") and Wisecut (60 min a month, "downloading any clips requires a paid plan").

Sources: quso.ai (20 Sept), Descript (20 Sept), Gling (22 Sept), OpusClip (20 Sept), Reap (22 Sept), Vizard (20 Sept), 2short (20 Sept), Spikes Studio (20 Sept), Choppity (20 Sept), Wisecut (20 Sept)

Ssemble is cheaper per minute at the entry price

Ssemble Pro: $15 a month for 30 credits × 20 min = 600 min, $0.025, about €0.022 per minute, against €0.025 on shortshort Starter (€12 for 480 minutes, before VAT), about 13% less. The compare pages call a gap under 15% between two currencies a tie, because the rate moves. Each video is counted in whole blocks of 20 minutes: their help centre gives "10-minute video = 1 credit" and "45-minute video = 3 credits". Expert and Business include bonus credits.

Source: Ssemble (22 Sept)

Larger plans elsewhere undercut Starter and Creator

2short Premium ($0.017, about €0.015), Descript Creator ($0.019, about €0.017), Ssemble Business ($0.02, about €0.017), Ssemble Expert ($0.021, about €0.019), 2short Pro ($0.022, about €0.019), Descript Business ($0.027, about €0.024), Gling Elite ($0.017 in a dollar the site does not name) and Gling Pro ($0.022 in a dollar the site does not name) cost less per minute than shortshort Starter (€0.025), and 2short Premium, Descript Creator, Ssemble Business and Gling Elite less than Creator (€0.018). None of the tiers read goes below the Studio plan (€0.013), but that rate means paying €79 a month before VAT.

Sources: 2short (20 Sept), Descript (20 Sept), Ssemble (22 Sept), Gling (22 Sept)

Yearly billing is not compared here, and others discount it more

This index uses monthly prices. Billed yearly, shortshort saves 20%; the pricing pages of Ssemble (up to 60%), Flowjin (50%), Gling (50%), Reap (up to 40%) and quso.ai (about 33%) give larger yearly discounts. A yearly comparison can reorder the table.

Sources: Ssemble (22 Sept), Flowjin (20 Sept), Gling (22 Sept), Reap (22 Sept), quso.ai (20 Sept)

Tools that charge per clip or per video are not ranked

AutoShorts, Klap, Submagic and Zubtitle charge per clip, per video or per short, so their price per minute depends on how long your videos are and how many clips you make. This index does not rank them, so it does not say shortshort is cheaper than them.

Sources: AutoShorts (22 Sept), Klap (20 Sept), Submagic (20 Sept), Zubtitle (22 Sept)

Which AI clip maker is cheapest per minute?

Among the 14 tools whose pricing page gives a monthly price, a monthly quota of minutes and a named currency, the lowest entry-plan price per minute of source video is Ssemble Pro at $0.025, about €0.022, then shortshort Starter at €0.025 before VAT, then 2short Lite at $0.033, about €0.029.

The lowest rate on any plan is shortshort Studio at €0.013 before VAT, for €79 a month; next is 2short Premium at $0.017, about €0.015. 8 tools give free minutes every month; shortshort gives 60 once.

Tools read
30
Ranked by price per minute
14
Sites read
20 Sept to 23 Sept
Dollar rate
1 USD = €0.872

Figures from each tool's pricing page, read between 20 and 23 September 2026; shortshort prices from its own plans on , before VAT.

Method and limits

How each number below is obtained, and what it leaves out.

  • Price per minute = the monthly list price of a plan divided by the minutes of source video it covers each month. Source video is the long video you give the tool, not the clips it returns.
  • Tools that count in other units are converted by their own stated rule: hours × 60, Ssemble credits × 20 minutes. Tools that sell clips, videos or credits with no stated minute value are listed apart, not ranked.
  • Every figure comes from the tool's own pricing page or help centre, read between 20 and 23 September 2026, and each row links its pricing page. US dollars are converted at the ECB reference rate of 22 September 2026 (1 USD = €0.872); a bare $ with no named currency is not converted.
  • Monthly billing only; plans sold on quote are left out; top-ups and one-off credit packs are left out on every side, shortshort included. shortshort prices are before VAT; other prices are as listed.
  • Price per minute says nothing about quality, features or limits such as watermarks, export resolution or video length. Each tool's compare page covers those, with sources.

The index, plan by plan

Tools sorted by the price per minute of their entry plan, in euros; each tool's plans from the cheapest monthly price up. The number before a tool is its rank; tools whose site names no currency come last, unranked. Every row links the page it was read on, with the date.

ToolPlanMonthly priceMinutes of source a monthPrice per minuteFree planSource, read on
1. Ssemble
Credits; 1 credit covers up to 20 minutes of source video. Each video is counted in whole blocks of 20 minutes: their help centre gives "10-minute video = 1 credit" and "45-minute video = 3 credits". Expert and Business include bonus credits.
Pro$15600
30 credits × 20 min = 600 min
$0.025
about €0.022
No free plan
help.ssemble.com/docs/billing/free-trial-is-not-supported
ssemble.com/pricing
Expert$301,400
70 credits × 20 min = 1,400 min
$0.021
about €0.019
ssemble.com/pricing
Business$603,000
150 credits × 20 min = 3,000 min
$0.02
about €0.017
ssemble.com/pricing
2. shortshort
Credits; 1 credit is 1 minute of source video, each video rounded up to the next minute, whatever the number of shorts. Prices before VAT. Top-ups (Creator and Studio plans) are left out, like every other tool's credit packs.
Starter€12480
480 credits × 1 min
€0.02560 min onceshortshort.io/pricing
, before VAT
Creator€291,600
1,600 credits × 1 min
€0.018shortshort.io/pricing
, before VAT
Studio€796,000
6,000 credits × 1 min
€0.013shortshort.io/pricing
, before VAT
3. 2short
Minutes of AI video analysis a month. The same page's closing call to action gives the free plan 15 minutes instead of 30. Lite also caps fast server-side exports at 60 minutes a month.
Lite$9.90300
5 h × 60 = 300 min
$0.033
about €0.029
30 min every month2short.ai/pricing
Pro$19.90900
15 h × 60 = 900 min
$0.022
about €0.019
2short.ai/pricing
Premium$49.903,000
50 h × 60 = 3,000 min
$0.017
about €0.015
2short.ai/pricing
4. Descript
Media minutes per editor a month; prices are per person. Descript is a general video editor: its media minutes are not specific to clipping, and each price is per person.
Hobbyist$24600
600 min
$0.04
about €0.035
60 min every monthdescript.com/pricing
Creator$351,800
1,800 min
$0.019
about €0.017
descript.com/pricing
Business$652,400
2,400 min
$0.027
about €0.024
descript.com/pricing
5. Reap
Hours of AI clipping a month. Their help centre charges reframing and editor processing at 2 media credits per minute.
Creator$24600
10 h × 60 = 600 min
$0.04
about €0.035
60 min every monthreap.video/pricing
Studio$501,200
20 h × 60 = 1,200 min
$0.042
about €0.036
reap.video/pricing
6. Vizard
Credits; every uploaded minute costs 1 credit. Both paid plans start at 600 credits a month; the page offers up to 6,200 credits a month, at prices not in this reading.
Creator$29600
600 credits × 1 min
$0.048
about €0.042
60 min every monthvizard.ai/pricing
Business$39600
600 credits × 1 min
$0.065
about €0.057
vizard.ai/pricing
7. Clip.fm
Minutes of video processing a month.
Starter$10150
150 min
$0.067
about €0.058
Trial onlyclip.fm/pricing
Pro, 300 minutes$18300
300 min
$0.06
about €0.052
clip.fm/pricing
Pro, 600 minutes$36600
600 min
$0.06
about €0.052
clip.fm/pricing
Pro, 900 minutes$54900
900 min
$0.06
about €0.052
clip.fm/pricing
Pro, 1,200 minutes$721,200
1,200 min
$0.06
about €0.052
clip.fm/pricing
Pro, 1,500 minutes$901,500
1,500 min
$0.06
about €0.052
clip.fm/pricing
8. Munch
Video repurposing minutes a month.
Essential$48500
500 min
$0.096
about €0.084
Trial onlymunchstudio.com/pricing
Premium$751,000
1,000 min
$0.075
about €0.065
munchstudio.com/pricing
Studio$1482,500
2,500 min
$0.059
about €0.052
munchstudio.com/pricing
Scale$3987,500
7,500 min
$0.053
about €0.046
munchstudio.com/pricing
9. OpusClip
Credits; 1 credit is 1 minute of video processing.
Starter$15150
150 credits × 1 min
$0.10
about €0.087
60 min every monthopus.pro/pricing
Pro$29
per pack, up to 15 packs
300
300 credits × 1 min
$0.097
about €0.084
opus.pro/pricing
10. Choppity
Hours of AI video analysis a month. Their comparison table gives Creator and Team "5+ hours"; 5 hours are counted here.
Starter$20180
3 h × 60 = 180 min
$0.11
about €0.097
60 min every month, exports locked or watermarkedchoppity.com/pricing
Creator$32300
5 h × 60 = 300 min
$0.11
about €0.093
choppity.com/pricing
Team$48300
5 h × 60 = 300 min
$0.16
about €0.14
choppity.com/pricing
11. Flowjin
Minutes of video or audio processed a month.
Starter$19150
150 min
$0.13
about €0.11
60 min onceflowjin.com/pricing
Creator$29
per pack, up to 5 packs
300
300 min
$0.097
about €0.084
flowjin.com/pricing
12. Chopcast
Uploaded minutes a month, whatever the number of clips.
90 mins$1990
90 min
$0.21
about €0.184
Trial, 60 minchopcast.io/pricing
180 mins$29180
180 min
$0.16
about €0.14
chopcast.io/pricing
360 mins$49360
360 min
$0.14
about €0.119
chopcast.io/pricing
13. quso.ai
Credits; one credit is about one minute of processed video. Clipping, captioning and editing draw from the same monthly credits.
Lite$29100
100 credits × 1 min
$0.29
about €0.253
75 min every monthquso.ai/pricing
Essential$39300
300 credits × 1 min
$0.13
about €0.113
quso.ai/pricing
Growth$49600
600 credits × 1 min
$0.082
about €0.071
quso.ai/pricing
14. Wisecut
Credits; 1 credit per processed minute in the Editor, 2 in Autopilot. Minutes counted at the Editor rate; Autopilot halves them.
Starter (editing only)$1960
60 credits × 1 min
$0.32
about €0.276
60 min every month, downloads need a paid planwisecut.ai/pricing
Starter+$33300
300 credits × 1 min
$0.11
about €0.096
wisecut.ai/pricing
Professional (editing only)$49300
300 credits × 1 min
$0.16
about €0.142
wisecut.ai/pricing
Professional+$1181,200
1,200 credits × 1 min
$0.098
about €0.086
wisecut.ai/pricing
Gling
Hours of AI edited media a month. Gling edits talking-head videos (silences, bad takes). The site prints a bare $ sign and never names its currency, so its prices are not converted or ranked.
Plus$20600
10 h × 60 = 600 min
$0.033
currency not named
60 min every monthgling.ai/pricing
Pro$401,800
30 h × 60 = 1,800 min
$0.022
currency not named
gling.ai/pricing
Elite$1006,000
100 h × 60 = 6,000 min
$0.017
currency not named
gling.ai/pricing
Spikes Studio
Uploaded minutes a month. The site prints a bare $ sign and never names its currency, so its prices are not converted or ranked.
PRO+$32.99300
300 min
$0.11
currency not named
30 min every monthspikes.studio/pricing
Enterprise$115.991,200
1,200 min
$0.097
currency not named
spikes.studio/pricing

US dollars converted at the ECB reference rate of 22 September 2026, 1 USD = €0.872. shortshort prices before VAT. Other prices as listed on each site. The quoted wording behind each figure is in the CSV and JSON (price_quote, minutes_quote), and on each tool's compare page.

What a month costs for your volume

Move the slider: each tool's cheapest listed plan that covers that many hours of source video a month.

h, that is 600 minutes

At 10 h a month: the lowest paid cost in euros is Ssemble Pro, $15 (about €13.08).

Monthly cost of 10 hours of source video, per tool
ToolCheapest listed plan that covers itMonthly costIn euros
SsemblePro$15about €13.08
2shortPro$19.90about €17.35
DescriptHobbyist$24about €20.93
ReapCreator$24about €20.93
VizardCreator$29about €25.29
shortshortCreator€29€29
Clip.fmPro, 600 minutes$36about €31.39
quso.aiGrowth$49about €42.73
FlowjinCreator × 2 packs$58about €50.58
OpusClipPro × 2 packs$58about €50.58
MunchPremium$75about €65.40
WisecutProfessional+$118about €102.90
GlingPlus$20Currency not named
Spikes StudioEnterprise$115.99Currency not named
ChopcastNo listed plan covers 10 h; the largest covers 6 h
ChoppityNo listed plan covers 10 h; the largest covers 5 h

For each tool: the cheapest plan on its pricing page that covers these hours at the monthly price, counting several packs of the same plan when the tool sells packs. A free plan counts when it refills every month and can download clips. Top-ups and one-off credit packs are left out everywhere, shortshort included. US dollars converted at the ECB reference rate of 22 September 2026, 1 USD = €0.872. shortshort prices before VAT.

14 tools that do not sell by the minute

Their pricing page gives no monthly quota of minutes, so they have no price per minute here. Their entry plan and what it sells, as on their compare page.

ToolEntry planWhat it sellsWhy not rankedFree planSource, read on
AutoShorts$6.99 one time for 10 credits, no subscription10 credits, not minutes of videoOne-time packs of credits, one credit per shortTrial: 3 credits, watermarked, 15 min, 720pautoshorts.app/en/pricing
Captions$24.99 a month, Max, first plan with Clips500 credits a month, minutes not statedCredits, minutes not statedPermanent, but their pages disagree on its creditscaptions.ai/pricing
Castmagic$29 a month, Hobby, billed monthly30 h library total, not per monthLibrary total of transcribed hours, not a monthly quotaNo free tier listed, plans start at $29 a monthcastmagic.io/pricing
Clips AINot statedNot stated on their siteNo pricing publishedNot stated on their siteclipsai.com
ContentFries$39 a month, Creator; packs from $4 one-time650 credits a month, minutes not statedCredits, minutes per credit not statedFree plan: 50 credits a month, 150 signup creditscontentfries.com/pricing
DummeNot statedNot stated on their siteNo pricing publishedNot stated, only a waitlist is offereddumme.com
Eklipse$24.99 a month, PremiumMinutes not statedMinutes not statedNo free tier; free account and browser tools onlyeklipse.gg/features/ai-edit
Kapwing$24 per member a month, Pro ($16 billed yearly)1,000 credits a month, not minutesCredits, not minutesPermanent free plan, watermarked exportskapwing.com/pricing
Klap$29 a month, Basic100 clips a month, not minutesSells clips, not minutesOne free video, no credit card requiredklap.app/pricing
QlipEUR 2,000 a year add-on, on top of a Pro or Enterprise planUnlimited footage, no minute capUnlimited use, yearly add-onFree trial: 240 min processed or 30 dayslivestorm.co/pricing
Riverside$35 a month, Pro ($24 billed yearly)Unlimited recording, 15 h uploads/monthPriced on recording, not clipping minutesYes, but hidden on the pricing page todayriverside.com/pricing
Submagic$19 a month per member, Starter45 credits = 15 videos a monthSells videos, not minutesFree start with limited exports, not a pricing cardsubmagic.co/pricing
VEEDEUR 22 per user a month, Creator, as shown in FranceNo minute cap, 500 credits a monthCredits, no minute quotaLasting free tier, watermark, AI editing tools try onceveed.io/pricing
Zubtitle$19 a month, Guru (no currency code on the site)10 videos a month, up to 20 min eachSells videos, not minutesFree forever, 2 videos a month, watermarked 720pzubtitle.com/pricing

Open data, and changes

Reuse the figures freely, with credit.

The index is published under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence: copy, adapt and republish it, including commercially, crediting "shortshort price index" with a link to this page. Files for edition 2026-09: CSV (one row per plan, then one per unranked tool) and JSON (the same, with the method and the exchange rate). The dollar rate is the ECB reference rate.

Each site is read again every month; a changed figure makes a new edition and a line below. A wrong figure can be reported to the address on the press page, with the page that shows it.

Changes

  • : First edition. Pricing pages read between 20 and 23 September 2026; US dollars converted at the ECB reference rate of 22 September 2026.

The per-minute price is one number. The shorts are the rest.

shortshort cuts one long video into shorts that end where the sentence ends. 60 credits are free at sign-up, no card, and one credit is one minute of source video.