shortshort
VEED ALTERNATIVE

shortshort vs VEED.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts that end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.05 per minute of video. Below: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

60 free credits, no cardUp to 3 hours per videoMP4 · 1080 × 1920

shortshort vs VEED: the short answer

shortshort turns one video of up to 3 hours into 9:16 shorts that end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic emphasis zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.05 per minute of source video. 60 minutes are free, no card.

VEED is a browser video editor with AI generation, captions and brand tools. It may fit better for translation or dubbing, virality score, B-roll, music, titles; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.05 here, EUR 22 per user a month, Creator, as shown in France at VEED
Free plan
Permanent on both sides
Longest video
3 h per video here, up to 3 h of speech at VEED
Largest file
2 GB per file here, 1 GB free, no cap on paid at VEED

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Priced by the minute, not by the short

€0.05 per minute on Starter, whatever the number of shorts. 60 minutes are free at sign-up, no card.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and keeps complete, quotable passages: a short opens and closes on a sentence, never mid-thought.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop tracks the face on screen and adds emphasis zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The VEED column is derived from VEED's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. VEED is a general browser video editor; clipping a long recording is one tool inside it.

CriterionshortshortVEED
Getting the video in
Longest video3 h per videoOne file of up to 3 hours, on every plan.3 h of speech max for clips [1]Clips needs at least 1 minute of speech and at most 3 hours; the video can be longer, and they advise keeping a project under 4 to 5 hours.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.1 GB per file free, no cap on paid [2]Paid plans have no per-file limit, though they advise a project total under 5 GB; storage is separate at 2 GB free, 5 GB Creator, 50 GB Pro, unlimited above.
How the video gets inFile upload onlyNo YouTube or Drive link import; the file leaves your disk.Upload, phone, recorder, stock and brand kit [2]Upload from web, iOS or Android, or record on the web; the iOS app starts at Creator, one page mentions pasting a link, and Clips refuses YouTube links and library files.
What comes out
Crop follows the speakerFace and scene trackingThe 9:16 crop moves with the speaker; slides and wide shots stay full frame; framing set automatically.Yes, auto-framing keeps the speaker centred [1]Clips centres the speaker whatever the ratio; nothing says it follows a moving subject or switches speakers, and subtitle speaker labels start at Pro.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import.Yes, 100+ languages, 10 min a month free [3]Paid plans are unlimited subject to 50 hours a month of fair use; styles stay limited on free and Creator and open up from Pro.
Aspect ratios9:16 onlyPortrait or landscape for clips [4]The clip tool offers only those two; the general resizer has presets for 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and more, and resizing for social is on every plan.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920, 30 fpsH.264, rendered in the browser or on the server on Creator and Studio.720p free, 1080p Creator, 4K from Pro [5]Exports are H.264 MP4 in BT.709 colour, there is no upscaling beyond the source, HDR becomes SDR, and frame rate limits only apply above 60 fps.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, free, no account neededBounds, caption words, caption style and title.Yes, transcript trim plus a full timeline [6]Clips can be extended or trimmed by highlighting text, and the Edit button opens the timeline editor with splitting, reordering and layered tracks.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Brand kit from Creator, full kits from Pro [7]Not available on free; Creator gets one kit of fonts and colours, Pro and above get multiple kits with images, video and saved groups.
Edit exportJSON edit plan, Studio planFor rendering on your own server; no Premiere or DaVinci export.Not stated on their siteNo Premiere, DaVinci or XML export is documented; subtitles download as SRT, VTT or TXT, from Creator in their grid but from Pro in their subtitle article.
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions are in the language spoken in the video.Yes, translation on all plans, dubbing from Pro [8]Translated subtitles are metered per minute for each language; dubbed audio is a one-time try on free and Creator, then 30 minutes a month on Pro.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes, four scores out of 10 per clip [6]Every clip is rated for flow, impact, clarity and relevance rather than one viral number, and you can star favourites and filter to them.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Yes, AI b-roll plus stock music and video [9]B-roll is a one-time try on free and included from Creator up; it needs speech to work, and stock audio and video are limited on free, unlimited on paid.
Publishes to socialDownload and post yourselfOne MP4 per short, or one ZIP with every short with and without captions; nothing is published from the studio.Not offered, you upload the export yourself [10]Their help centre says posting to YouTube, TikTok or Instagram means downloading first; sharing is by link, email or embed, and embeds need Pro.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginYes, 3 editors, 5 on Studio, billed per seat [11]Editors cap at 3 on free, Creator and Pro, 5 on Studio and more on Enterprise; reviewer seats start at Studio, and each seat multiplies the price.
APINoneYes, pay as you go, keys issued via fal.ai [12]Five REST endpoints for image to video, subtitles, lip sync, green screen and background removal, with webhooks; there is no clipping endpoint.
Free plan60 credits, no cardPermanent: up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free tier, watermarked, AI editing tools try once [11]Free exports are 720p and capped at 10 minutes with 2 GB storage and 10 minutes of subtitles a month, and every AI editing tool including Clips is a one-time try.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 240 minutes.Per seat per month, plus AI credits [11]Monthly or yearly billing, each editor seat billed separately, credits do not carry over; prices are shown in EUR for France, and the developer API is billed per use.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each VEED cell, as read on their site
Longest video
For AI Clips the limit is on speech, not runtime: "Mininum of 1 minute speech in the video. Maximum of 3 hours speech in the video. The video can be longer, but the speech in the file has to be in between these 2 limits." (their spelling of "Mininum"). Their FAQ adds "Clips is designed for videos that are 1 minute or longer with spoken audio to generate meaningful highlights." For the editor generally: "There's no limit on the length of an individual file. We do recommend keeping the total project length to around 4–5 hours." Output side, the comparison grid caps "Video Export Length" at "10 minutes" on Free and "Unlimited" on every paid plan; and Clips itself is built short: "The Clips feature is designed to create short clips, mainly a minute or shorter clips." [1]
Largest file
"On the Free plan, each file can be up to 1 GB. That's per file, not per project, so you can have several smaller files in one project. Paid plans have no per-file limit, though we recommend keeping a project's total under 5 GB for smooth performance." The comparison grid agrees: "Upload File Size: 1GB (Free) / Unlimited (Creator, Pro, Studio, Enterprise)". Storage quotas are separate and do bite: "Storage 2GB / 5GB / 50GB / Unlimited / Unlimited". [2]
How the video gets in
Upload from your device is the main route: "drag and drop your video or audio into the marked area, or click to browse your device", either into the Assets library or straight into a project. The new-project pop-up offers four options: "Upload files", "Upload from phone: send files across from your mobile device", "Record: capture new footage with the built-in recorder" (screen, camera or both), "Start with AI: generate your first asset instead of uploading one"; inside an existing project you can also pull from stock video/music/images and from a Brand Kit. Uploading "works the same way on the web at veed.io, in the Android app, and in the iOS app"; on Android the device picker can reach "your gallery, Downloads, Google Drive, or any other storage provider you have set up", which is the OS picker rather than a VEED integration. A link route IS stated, but only on the marketing page, not in the help article: the Video Editor tool page's step 1 reads "Drag and drop your video file or paste a link. VEED supports MP4, MOV, AVI, and other major formats." No detail is given about which links are accepted, and no Dropbox or Google Drive connector is described anywhere. For AI Clips specifically the help centre states two hard exclusions: "Can I import a YouTube video using the link to it? No, the YouTube import option is not available. You will have to use a different service to download the video from YouTube, and then you can upload the downloaded video to create clips from it", and "Can I use the Clips feature on videos I have in my library? No, you cannot use the Clips feature on videos that are already uploaded in your account or are exported versions of a project." (Separately, VEED does sell a standalone "Transcribe YouTube Video" tool, which is not the editor or Clips.) Accepted formats: video MP4, M4V (H.264, H.265), MOV (H.264, H.265, ProRes), MKV (VP8, VP9, AV1), WEBM, AVI, OGV, FLV, TS, GIF; audio MP3, M4A, OGG, OGA, WAV, AAC, FLAC; image JPG, JPEG, PNG, WEBP, AVIF. "HDR files are converted to SDR on upload. Transparency is supported in MP4, M4V, MOV, and MKV." [2]
Crop follows the speaker
Yes, for clips, though stated loosely. Listed under "What Clips Do Automatically?": "Auto-framing : Keeps the speaker front and center, regardless of aspect ratio". The same article's opening line says "We automatically find highlights, add subtitles, center the speaker, remove filler words, and format the video for social." This is framed as keeping the speaker centred, not as face tracking that follows movement, and nothing on their domain says whether it re-frames shot by shot, follows a moving subject, or switches between multiple speakers. Two adjacent capabilities exist but are not the same thing: "Detect Speakers" for subtitles (Pro and above) labels who is talking rather than framing them, and OpenEdit's example prompt "Reframe this to 9x16 and keep the speaker centered" is the agent pipeline, not Clips. [1]
Automatic captions
Yes, automatic. The comparison grid gives Free "10 min/mo" of Auto Subtitles; every paid plan shows "Unlimited*", and the pricing FAQ defines the asterisk: "All paid plans include unlimited subtitle generation, subject to a fair use limit of 50 hours per month. The subtitle styles and customization options available depend on your plan, with more advanced styles unlocked on higher tiers." Inside AI Clips: "Auto-subtitles : Adds captions in over 100 languages". Their language table lists 256 languages, of which I counted 188 marked as supported for transcription. Styling, from the auto-subtitle article: preset styles plus font, font size, colour, bold/italic, alignment, letter casing, line height, letter spacing, number of lines, text outline, text shadow, background, animation, "Auto Highlight", "Auto Emoji" and "Random Rotate Lines"; low-confidence words are flagged in orange and you can add words to a dictionary. "Dynamic Subtitles" are ticked on every plan; "Subtitle Styles" are "Limited" on Free and Creator and "Unlimited" from Pro. You can also skip the AI: "Add subtitles manually by typing them in. Upload an existing subtitle file (.SRT or .VTT)." Speaker labelling is paid: "Please note that Detect Speakers is a paying feature. This is only available for users on the PRO plan or higher". One caveat for a comparison table: "It's not currently possible to use two different subtitle styles within the same project." [3]
Aspect ratios
For AI Clips, two choices only: "Size: Choose the size of the generated clips. Select between Portrait and Landscape." (the Clips help article). For the general editor/resizer, the Resize Video tool page says you "select from preset sizes for YouTube (16:9), Instagram Story (9:16), TikTok (9:16), Facebook Cover, LinkedIn, square (1:1), and more. Drag to crop or use Fit to Canvas to resize automatically. Exports in full HD with no loss in quality", and its FAQ lists "YouTube Shorts ratio: 9:16 / YouTube: 16:9 / TikTok: 9:16 / Instagram reel: 9:16 / And many more". The comparison grid marks "Resize For Social Media" as a tick on every plan including Free. [4]
Export
"Free Plan : Export in 720p only. Creator Plan : Export up to 1080p . Pro, Studio, and Enterprise Plans : Export up to 4K ." (The comparison grid prints a raw "4096" for those three tiers instead of a label - see notes.) On frame rate they give a ceiling rather than a figure: "If the original FPS (frames per second) of the uploaded video is lower than the FPS set in export settings, VEED will use the original FPS. FPS limits only apply when the uploaded video has an FPS higher than 60." And there is no upscaling: "If the original video quality is lower than the chosen export resolution, VEED will not enhance it beyond its original quality." Container, codec and colour are documented on a different article, "What you need to know about video quality at VEED": "VEED outputs h264 variable bitrate video in an mp4 format... We export in the bt709 color space", audio "in AAC in the highest bitrate setting", and HDR is not preserved - "VEED supports uploading HDR videos, but it converts it to SDR and exports in SDR." [5]
Manual editor
Yes, two layers of it. For clips there is a transcript-based editor: "Preview your clips and make adjustments using our transcript-based editor , extend clips by highlighting additional sentences or trim by removing text." The help article describes the same controls: "You can click on the Trim button for each clip to trim the start and end of the clip. We will display the script for the clip and you can use the handles at the start and end of the text to trim the clip", and "Clicking on the Edit button will take you to the editor to fully customize the clip, including the subtitles." Behind that sits VEED's full timeline editor, the "Free Online Video Editor", whose own page promises "Trim, crop, and arrange clips on the timeline. Add text, subtitles, and music." The timeline help article documents the rest: a playhead with frame-step, trim handles, "Splitting Clips or Elements" with a scissors button or the S key, drag-to-reorder with snapping, grouping and ungrouping, deleting gaps, and "Layering Tracks : You can stack multiple media tracks vertically. This layering allows for overlaying videos, images, or audio, enabling picture-in-picture effects and background music integration." Transitions and zooms are not claimed on the editor tool page; they have their own help articles ("How to use Transitions and Animations", "How to add Zoom to your videos"), and merging is sold as a separate tool (Video Joiner). [6]
Brand presets
Yes, called Brand Kit. "Brand Kits keep your fonts, colors, logos, and reusable graphics in one place, so everyone in your workspace can build on-brand videos without hunting for assets." Availability, verbatim: "Free plan: not available. Creator plan: one Brand Kit, limited to fonts and colors. Pro, Studio, and Enterprise: multiple Brand Kits with all asset types", restated in their FAQ as "Brand Kits start on the Creator plan, which includes one Kit limited to fonts and colors. For images, video, audio, and groups, you'll need Pro or above." You can also "save a whole arrangement - a lower third, an intro, an outro - and reuse it across your team" via Groups saved to the Brand Kit, and they distinguish the two: "A group is a set of elements saved into your Brand Kit... A template is a whole project you can start a new video from." The comparison grid shows the Brand Kit row as dash / "Limited" / "Multiple brands" / "Multiple brands" / "Multiple brands", Stock Templates "Unlimited" on all paid plans, Custom Templates ticked from Pro upward, Custom Watermarks from Studio upward. On the clip tool: "Paid users can save their subtitle styles to a brand kit for consistent visuals across all projects." [7]
Edit export
Not stated on their site.
Translation or dubbing
Both, on very different allowances. Subtitle translation shows as "Translate with Credits" on every plan including Free, and is metered by minute: "Translations are minute-based and count toward your plan's allowance... if you add subtitles to a 30-minute video, it won't use any of your translation allowance. If you then translate that video from English to Spanish, it will use 30 minutes. Translating the same video into another language would use an additional 30 minutes." Unused minutes do not roll over. The paid cards say "Translate to 50+ Languages"; their own language table is larger, listing 256 languages of which I counted 235 marked as supported for translation. Dubbed audio is a separate, much tighter allowance: "AI Dubbing" is "Try once" on Free and on Creator, then - on monthly billing - "30 min/mo" on Pro and "1 hr/mo" on Studio, "Custom" on Enterprise; the same row reads "6 hr/yr" and "12 hr/yr" when the page is switched to yearly billing. Dubbing covers 72 spoken source languages it can detect and 29 target languages it can dub to (English, Hindi, Portuguese, Mandarin, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Arabic, Russian, Korean, Indonesian, Italian, Dutch, Turkish, Polish, Swedish, Tagalog, Malay, Romanian, Ukrainian, Greek, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Bulgarian, Croatian, Slovak, Tamil). "AI Dubbing Proofread" and "AI Dubbing Script Upload" are Enterprise only. [8]
Virality score
Yes, but it is four sub-scores rather than one virality number. Verbatim from the tool page FAQ: "Each generated clip receives scores for Flow, Impact, Clarity, and Relevance (rated out of 10). These metrics help you identify which clips are most likely to perform well with your audience." And from the body copy: "VEED's AI automatically analyzes your content for flow, impact, clarity, and relevance to help you identify clips with viral potential. Our scoring system makes clip selection more efficient. The final choice of what resonates with your audience is always yours." The help centre is vaguer about the same thing - it calls it "Clip rating : Identifies and surfaces the most engaging moments" and only says "You will see ratings for different aspects that you can review", with a star to favourite clips and a switch to show only favourites. The named four-metric breakdown appears on the marketing page, not in the help centre. [6]
B-roll, music, titles
Yes. "The AI B-Roll feature automatically adds relevant images and video clips to your project, based on the words spoken in your video." A B-roll track appears in the timeline "synced to key points in your narration", and each item can be regenerated or replaced with your own upload or a stock video; you can also regenerate the whole set. It needs speech: "The B-Roll feature requires speech to generate visuals. If no speech is detected, it will notify you that B-Roll cannot be generated." Availability per that article: "Free and Lite plan users: One-time use(Try once)" / "Pro plan users: Unlimited usage" - note those are stale plan names; the current comparison grid shows "AI B-Roll" as "Try once" on Free and a tick on Creator, Pro, Studio and Enterprise. The clip page also says you can "keep editing to add B-roll images, background music, and your logo", and the plans include stock audio and video ("Limited" on Free, "Unlimited" on every paid plan). [9]
Publishes to social
No. Their help centre states it flatly: "Does Veed allow direct publishing of videos to external platforms? No, Veed requires users to manually upload exported videos to external platforms. While this involves an extra step, it provides flexibility in sharing across platforms." And: "Can I share videos directly on YouTube, Facebook, Instagram, or TikTok? To share videos on these or other websites, you must download the videos, head over to the video-sharing website, and upload the video there." What VEED offers instead is link sharing with access control and commenting, email sharing, GIF sharing ("the first 2 seconds of your video as a GIF") and website embeds - and embeds are paid: "the embed option isn't available for users with the Free plan. It is included in the Pro or higher plans." No scheduling or content calendar is described anywhere I could find. The comparison grid has an "Integrations" row ticked for Enterprise only; no page says what those integrations are (the row's hover tooltip in the page's own payload is just "Link up your video production workflow"). One piece of marketing copy cuts the other way and should not be read as auto-posting: the Resize Video page says you can "export and upload directly", which the help centre's answer above contradicts if read as direct publishing. [10]
Team seats
Yes, a shared workspace, but the seat counts are low and billed per head. From the comparison grid, "Number Of Editors": "Up to 3" on Free, "Up to 3" on Creator, "Up to 3" on Pro, "Up to 5" on Studio, "5+" on Enterprise. Separately, "Number Of Reviewers": 0, 0, 0, 1, "Unlimited". Charging, verbatim from their FAQ: "Our plans are charged on a 'per seat' basis so the amount of the plan is multiplied by the number of editors in your workspace. You will be charged when you invite new users into the workspace." Brand Kit assets are workspace-wide with no separate permission: "Anything you add is available to everyone in the workspace" and "Any editor in the workspace... anyone who can edit projects can also add, move, and remove assets." Enterprise-only team controls: Private Workspaces, "Single Sign-On (SSO)", Integrations, "Centrally manage teams and data". [11]
API
Yes, a public usage-based developer API. Page headline: "Build with the most powerful video APIs" / "Image-to-video, lip sync, background removal, and green screen. Developer-first APIs that drop straight into your stack." Five APIs are listed: Fabric 1.0, Subtitles, Lip Sync 2.0, Green Screen, Background Removal. Keys are issued through a third party: "Sign up on fal.ai and grab your API key", then "Add the fal.ai client to your project with npm, yarn, or pnpm" (the sample code calls fal.subscribe("veed/fabric-1.0")). Billing: "Pay only for what you use. No subscriptions, no minimums." Published rates, in USD on the page: Fabric 1.0 "$0.08 / second" (Regular 480p), "$0.15 / second" (Regular 720p), "$0.10 / second" (Fast 480p), "$0.20 / second" (Fast 720p); Subtitles "$0.10 / minute" (Basic, up to 1080p), "$0.20 / minute" (Basic above 1080p and Dynamic up to 1080p), "$0.40 / minute" (Dynamic, above 1080p); Lip Sync 2.0 "$0.07 / second"; Green Screen "$0.025 / 30 frames"; Background Removal "$0.015 / 30 frames" (Standard), "$0.0225" (Refine edges), "$0.008" (Fast), "$0.012" (Fast refine edges). Their FAQ: "VEED provides REST APIs for AI video features such as avatars, lip sync, and background removal", "Video processing runs asynchronously. API requests return a job ID so applications can track rendering status", and "Yes. Webhooks can notify your application when video processing is complete." Note for a clipper comparison: the AI Clips feature itself is not among the APIs listed, and the footer's API menu (Fabric 1.0, Lip Sync, Lip Sync 2.0, Subtitle, Background Removal, Background Removal Fast, Green Screen, plus a "Live Avatar API Waitlist") has no clipping endpoint either. [12]
Free plan
Yes, a free tier. It has no card of its own on the pricing page (the page only says "Start for free, upgrade to get powerful features"); it appears as a "Free" column priced "€0" inside the "See all features" comparison grid. What that column gives, cell by cell: no watermark-free exports, "Video Export Length 10 minutes", "Export Quality 720p", "Storage 2GB", "Upload File Size 1GB", "Auto Subtitles 10 min/mo", "Subtitle Styles Limited", "Stock Audio & Video Limited", "Text To Speech Up to 10 min/mo with Credits", "AI Image Generation With AI Models Up to 100 images/mo with Credits", "Number Of Editors Up to 3", "Number Of Reviewers 0", no Brand Kit, no stock templates, no iOS app, no subtitle download, no embeds, no privacy controls, support is an "AI chatbot". Every AI editing tool - Clips, AI B-Roll, Text Behind Person, Clean Audio, Remove Filler Words, Remove Silences, Eye Contact, Background Removal, Beautifier, Auto-Edits, Voice Clone - is marked "Try once" on Free, and the Clips article spells it out: "Free plan : Try once (one-time use for an account)". On the watermark, their rendered help article says: "All projects exported while you weren't logged into an account or used a free account will have a VEED.IO watermark. The only way to export a project without our watermark is to have a paid subscription", and it is not fixed in one corner - "You won't be able to edit or move the watermark, which will appear in your video as an image that will, after some time, appear in a different section of the video." [11]
How you pay
Per-seat subscription with a choice of monthly or yearly billing, plus a monthly or yearly allowance of AI credits that the generative features draw on. Per seat, verbatim: "Our plans are charged on a 'per seat' basis so the amount of the plan is multiplied by the number of editors in your workspace. You will be charged when you invite new users into the workspace." Credits, verbatim: "Your plan includes a set amount of AI credits each month or year to spend on AI generations. Your full allowance refreshes when your subscription renews, so you get a fresh batch to use. Credits do not carry over, and you can move to a higher plan whenever you need more." A second FAQ adds that you can buy up without changing tier: "Yes. You can move to a higher credit allowance on your current plan. It works like a normal subscription upgrade, giving your workspace more credits each billing period." The yearly toggle is labelled "Save up to 51%", and switching to yearly changes the credit allowance and several metered rows, not just the price. Their developer API is billed separately and differently: "Pay only for what you use. No subscriptions, no minimums." [11]

What a month costs

shortshort prices before VAT, from the product. VEED plans as listed on their pricing page [11].

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card60 welcome credits, one hour of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month240 min of video a month, 4 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkPrivate exports: nothing posted to the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month800 min of video a month, 13 h 20Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoRenders on our servers: close the tab and come back to finished shorts
  • Studio€79 a month3,000 min of video a month, 50 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

VEED

  • FreeEUR 0, shown in the feature grid10 min exports, 720p, 2 GB storageWatermark on every export, and it moves aroundAuto subtitles 10 minutes a monthClips and the AI editing tools are a one-time tryUp to 3 editors, no brand kit, no embeds
  • CreatorEUR 22 per user a month, EUR 129 a year500 credits a month, 5 GB storageEUR 10.75 per user a month on yearly billingNo watermark, 1080p export, unlimited lengthUnlimited auto subtitles, styles still limitedClips and AI b-roll included, one brand kit
  • ProEUR 47 per user a month, EUR 278 a year2,500 credits a month, 50 GB storageEUR 23.17 per user a month on yearly billing4K export, unlimited subtitle styles, embedsMultiple brand kits, custom templates, speaker labelsDubbing 30 min a month on monthly billing
  • StudioEUR 76 per user a month, EUR 448 a year15,000 credits a month, unlimited storageEUR 37.33 per user a month on yearly billingCustom watermarks and branded video hostingDubbing 1 hr a month, AI voice 80 hr, monthlyUp to 5 editors and 1 reviewer seat
  • EnterpriseCustom pricing, contact salesCustom credits, unlimited storageSSO, private workspaces and integrations5+ editors and unlimited reviewer seatsDubbing proofread and script uploadFree trial for at least 3 users, via sales
As written on their pricing page
Free: €0 (shown only in the comparison grid; there is no Free card)
Watermarked exports (the "Watermark-Free Exports" row is a dash), "Video Export Length 10 minutes", "Export Quality 720p", "Storage 2GB", "Upload File Size 1GB", "Auto Subtitles 10 min/mo", "Subtitle Styles Limited", "Stock Audio & Video Limited", "Text To Speech Up to 10 min/mo with Credits", "AI Image Generation With AI Models Up to 100 images/mo with Credits", "Number Of Editors Up to 3", "Number Of Reviewers 0". Ticked: Manual Subtitles, Dynamic Subtitles, Resize For Social Media, Screen & Camera Recorder, Edit With Script. "Generate with Credits" on Gen-AI Studio, AI video generation, Custom Characters, Stock Characters, AI Background Expand; "Translate with Credits" on Subtitle Translation. Every AI editing tool (Clips, AI B-Roll, Text Behind Person, Clean Audio, Remove Filler Words, Remove Silences, Eye Contact, Background Removal, Beautifier, Auto-Edits, Voice Clone, AI Dubbing) is "Try once". Support is an "AI chatbot".. Signposted only as "Start for free" in the hero; the column exists inside "See all features". Dashes on: Watermark-Free Exports, IOS App, Download Subtitles, Brand Kit, Stock Templates, Custom Vocabulary, Custom Templates, Custom Watermarks, Branded Video Hosting, Private Workspaces, Integrations, SSO, Privacy Controls, Embeds, Custom Embeds, Video Call-To-Action.
Creator: €22 per user / month on monthly billing. On yearly billing the card reads "€11 per user / month" and "billed yearly as €129"; the comparison grid gives the exact figure, "€10.75/mo, per user". Currency read from a bare € symbol on a page that geolocated me to France.
Card wording: "500 Credits · ~125 AI Videos" on monthly billing ("6,000 Credits · ~1,500 AI Videos" on yearly), "No watermark", "Unlimited Auto Subtitles", "Full audio & video catalog", "15+ AI tools to make studio-quality videos", "Create videos with Gen-AI Studio". Grid: "Export Quality 1080p", "Storage 5GB", "Upload File Size Unlimited", "Video Export Length Unlimited", "Auto Subtitles Unlimited*", "Subtitle Styles Limited", Download Subtitles ticked, IOS App ticked, "Brand Kit Limited", "Stock Templates Unlimited", "Text To Speech Up to 2 hr/mo with Credits", "AI Image Generation Up to 300 images/mo with Credits", "Number Of Editors Up to 3", "Number Of Reviewers 0", Clips and AI B-Roll ticked, Privacy Controls ticked, "Support Chat".. Monthly and yearly differ in credits, not just price: 500 credits/mo versus 6,000 credits/yr. "Credits do not carry over." Still no embeds, no custom templates, no custom vocabulary, no custom watermarks. "Text Behind Person" and "AI Dubbing" are both only "Try once" at this tier. Brand Kit here is "one Brand Kit, limited to fonts and colors".
Pro (marked "Recommended" on the card, "Best-seller" in the grid): €47 per user / month on monthly billing. On yearly billing the card reads "€23 per user / month" and "billed yearly as €278"; the grid gives "€23.17/mo, per user".
Card wording: "2,500 Credits · ~625 AI Videos" monthly ("30,000 Credits · ~7,500 AI Videos" yearly), "Everything in Creator +", "Multiple Brand Kits", "Translate to 50+ Languages", "Up to 12 hr/mo of AI voice" (monthly) or "Up to 144 hr/yr" (yearly), "Create videos with Gen-AI Studio". Grid: "Export Quality 4096" (their export article says "up to 4K"), "Storage 50GB", "Subtitle Styles Unlimited", "AI Image Generation Unlimited", "AI Dubbing 30 min/mo" (monthly) or "6 hr/yr" (yearly), Brand Kit "Multiple brands", Custom Vocabulary, Custom Templates, Embeds, Custom Embeds, Video Call-To-Action, Text Behind Person all ticked, "Number Of Editors Up to 3", "Number Of Reviewers 0", "Support Chat".. First tier with 4K export, unlimited subtitle styles, unlimited AI image generation, multiple Brand Kits, custom templates and embeds. Speaker detection on subtitles starts here: "Detect Speakers... is only available for users on the PRO plan or higher". Still capped at 3 editors and 0 reviewers, the same as Free. No custom watermarks yet.
Studio: €76 per user / month on monthly billing. On yearly billing the card reads "€37 per user / month" and "billed yearly as €448"; the grid gives "€37.33/mo, per user".
Card wording: "15,000 Credits · ~3,750 AI Videos" monthly ("180,000 Credits · ~45,000 AI Videos" yearly), "Everything in Pro +", "Custom Templates", "Translate to 50+ Languages", "Up to 80 hr/mo of AI voice" (monthly) or "Up to 960 hr/yr" (yearly). Grid: "Storage Unlimited", "AI Dubbing 1 hr/mo" (monthly) or "12 hr/yr" (yearly), Custom Watermarks ticked, "Branded Video Hosting 1", "Number Of Editors Up to 5", "Number Of Reviewers 1", "Support Chat".. First tier to raise the seat count above 3 and to give a reviewer seat, and the first with custom watermarks and branded hosting. Still no private workspaces, no integrations, no SSO. The card's "Everything in Pro + Custom Templates" is misleading: the grid already ticks Custom Templates at Pro.
Enterprise: "Custom pricing" - "Contact Sales"
Card: "Custom AI Credits", "Centrally manage teams and data", "Review mode for videos", "Privacy controls", "Customer success". Grid: "Export Quality 4096", "Storage Unlimited", "Text To Speech Custom", "AI Dubbing Custom", AI Dubbing Proofread and AI Dubbing Script Upload (Enterprise only), "Branded Video Hosting Unlimited", Private Workspaces, Integrations, "Single Sign-On (SSO)", "Number Of Editors 5+", "Number Of Reviewers Unlimited", "Support Chat 24/5", Custom Legals, Customer Success, Workspace Setup, Onboarding & Training.. The only tier with SSO, integrations, private workspaces, unlimited reviewers and dubbing proofread/script upload. Trials, as rendered today: "We offer a free trial for enterprise customers. You will need a minimum of 3 users. To set this up please Contact Sales." A second variant stored in the same page's payload offers a 7-day trial of paid plans with a credit card, but that variant did not render.

The verdict

shortshort for the price per minute, the cuts and the framing; VEED when you need translation or dubbing or virality score. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short opens and closes on a sentence boundary, with a 25% margin around the target length; nothing ends mid-thought.
  • Framing that follows the face, with emphasis zoomsFace and scene tracking move the 9:16 crop; zooms between x1.0 and x1.6 add motion; slides and wide shots stay whole.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • A free manual editor, no account neededBounds, caption words, caption style and title; the MP4 export works without signing in.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where VEED may fit better

  • Translation or dubbing [8]Yes, translation on all plans, dubbing from Pro. Translated subtitles are metered per minute for each language; dubbed audio is a one-time try on free and Creator, then 30 minutes a month on Pro.
  • Virality score [6]Yes, four scores out of 10 per clip. Every clip is rated for flow, impact, clarity and relevance rather than one viral number, and you can star favourites and filter to them.
  • B-roll, music, titles [9]Yes, AI b-roll plus stock music and video. B-roll is a one-time try on free and included from Creator up; it needs speech to work, and stock audio and video are limited on free, unlimited on paid.
  • Team seats [11]Yes, 3 editors, 5 on Studio, billed per seat. Editors cap at 3 on free, Creator and Pro, 5 on Studio and more on Enterprise; reviewer seats start at Studio, and each seat multiplies the price.
  • API [12]Yes, pay as you go, keys issued via fal.ai. Five REST endpoints for image to video, subtitles, lip sync, green screen and background removal, with webhooks; there is no clipping endpoint.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it with its transcript.

Frame of the original video: The Sun Doesn't Stop for Anyone2:04:55 · original10 MOMENTS

3 of 10 shorts shown · The Sun Doesn't Stop for Anyone · watch it in the community, with the transcript

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the speaker

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

shortshort in 55 seconds

The whole flow, from the drop to the MP4, in one silent video with captions in the picture.

55 seconds, no sound, captions in the picture.

Questions people ask

Is shortshort a good VEED alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one video of up to 3 hours into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the free plan and up to 20 on Studio, cut on complete sentences, framed on the speaker and captioned word by word in one of four styles. If that is the job, try it with the 60 free credits and compare the result with what you get from VEED.

How does shortshort pricing compare with VEED?

shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts. Starter is 12 EUR for 240 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 800 and Studio 79 EUR for 3,000, and every account starts with 60 free credits. VEED's own plans, as written on their pricing page, are listed on this page under "What a month costs".

Can I try shortshort before leaving VEED?

Yes. The 60 free credits cover a one-hour video with up to 3 shorts, no card needed. Your source video stays private; only the shorts you export join the community, and every paid plan lets you keep them out of it.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 60 minutes are free, no card. Your source video stays yours; the shorts you export join the community, and any paid plan keeps them out of it.