shortshort
COMPARISON

OpusClip alternative: shortshort vs OpusClip.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT, less than a third of the price per minute of OpusClip. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling; the 30 welcome credits are given once. Below, side by side with OpusClip (also written Opus Clip): the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs OpusClip: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT, less than a third of the price per minute of OpusClip. 30 minutes are free, no card.

OpusClip turns long videos into shorts and publishes them to social platforms. It may fit better for bigger files, longer videos, a crop that follows whoever is speaking; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here, $0.10 at OpusClip

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Less than a third of the price per minute of OpusClip

€0.025 per minute here, before VAT: €12 a month for 480 minutes on Starter. $0.10 per minute at OpusClip: $15 a month, Starter. Priced per minute of source, not per short: 1 short or 5 cost the same on Starter, up to 20 per video on the Studio plan.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The OpusClip column is derived from OpusClip's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

CriterionshortshortOpusClip
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file size, 12 hours at mostOne file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours, on every plan; below that, how many hours fit in 2 GB depends on the bitrate.10 h per video [1]Local files must be no more than 10 GB and up to 10 hours long.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and Business [2]Free and Starter accept local videos up to 10 GB; Pro and Business accept up to 30 GB per video plus public mp4 URLs.
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Upload or link, YouTube, Drive, Zoom, Vimeo and more [3]Free imports YouTube links and local files; Starter adds Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Rumble and StreamYard; Pro and Business get the full list plus public mp4 URLs.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.Yes, auto reframe on all plans [2]Active speaker is identified from voice and motion cues; custom reframing from Starter up, moving object tracking on Pro and Business only.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, animated captions in 20+ languages [2]All plans get animated caption templates with auto emoji and keyword highlights; Free captions carry a watermark; custom fonts are Pro and Business only.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16 only, plus 1:1 and 16:9 on Pro [2]Free and Starter render 9:16 only; Pro and Business add 1:1 and 16:9, and the editor help article also lists 4:5.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.1080p on Free, 4K on Business [2]Starter and Pro export at the highest resolution available; the pricing table puts 4K download on Business only while the help center allows 4K export on Pro.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes from Starter, none on Free [2]Text and timeline-based editing on Starter, Pro and Business; the Free card says no editing.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.1 template, 2 to 4 on Pro [2]Free and Starter get 1 template; Pro gets 2 with one pack and 4 from two packs; Business gets a custom solution.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.XML for Premiere and DaVinci, Pro and up [2]Export gives an .xml and an .srt file, one short at a time; the help center says it is exclusively for Pro plan users.
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Dubbing on Pro and Business only [2]Transcription covers 20+ languages on all plans; dubbing into 25 languages with a clone of your voice is Pro and Business only, at 10 credits a minute.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes from Starter up, not on Free [2]Clips are ranked 0 to 99 by their ability to go viral; Free plan users cannot see the score.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Yes from Starter, none on Free [2]Starter gets 3 AI image and 3 stock B-roll clips a month; Pro and Business get 50 AI image clips a day, unlimited stock, and AI video B-roll.
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.Yes from Starter, scheduler on Pro [2]Starter posts to YouTube Shorts, TikTok and IG Reels; Pro adds a scheduler, X, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads and Bluesky; an X post costs 3 credits.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginPro and Business only, 2 seats on Pro [2]Pro workspace has 2 users per pack up to 4 users; Business is unlimited, with sub-teams; member permissions are marked coming soon.
APINoneLimited on Pro, API and custom integrations on Business [2]Pro gets Video Editing API, Scheduler API, MCP connector and Zapier up to 300 credits a month; Business adds custom and CMS integrations.
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free forever, 60 min a month, watermark, 3-day export [2]Clips render up to 1080p in 9:16 only, no editor, no virality score, no posting, and clips stop being exportable after 3 days.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Monthly credits, 1 credit = 1 minute [2]Credits roll over one more month, two on yearly Pro. Pro sells up to 5 packs monthly or 15 yearly, plus credit top-ups; their help pages differ on yearly credit timing.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each OpusClip cell, as read on their site
Longest video
"Our system supports videos up to 10 hours long." (local files: "no more than 10GB and up to 10 hours long") [1]
Largest file
"Local video (Up to 10GB per video)" on Free and Starter; "Local video (Up to 30GB per video) and Public mp4 url" on Pro and Business [2]
How the video gets in
Local file upload ("max size: 30GB for Pro Users"); links from Apple Podcast, YouTube, Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Zoom Clips, Rumble, Twitch, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Dropbox, Riverside, Loom, Frame.io, StreamYard, Kick, Medal.tv, public .mp4 urls; links must be public or unlisted. Per-plan split (help center Plans article): Free = YouTube and local files; Starter adds Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Rumble, StreamYard; Pro/Business = full list [3]
Crop follows the face
"AI reframe" section: "Moving object tracking" on Pro and Business only; "Custom reframing" (tooltip "Manually customize the cropping of your clips.") and "Genre-specific reframing model" Starter and up; "Dynamic layout switch" and "Screenshare/gameplay layout" on all plans; Free card "Auto reframe"; help center: "OpusClip identifies the active speaker using voice and motion cues" plus manual subject tracking [2]
Automatic captions
"AI animated captions in 20+ languages" (Starter card); "Animated caption templates" on all plans, "With watermark" on Free (template count not stated); "Auto emoji and keyword highlights" all plans; "Multi-language transcription" (tooltip: "We support transcribing videos in 20+ languages."); "Upload custom font" Pro "Up to 2 fonts" and Business; "Speaker-based caption colors" marked "Coming soon" on Business ("-" on the other plans); "Auto censor curse words" Pro (default list) and Business (custom list) [2]
Aspect ratios
Free and Starter: "9:16" only; Pro and Business: "9:16, 1:1, 16:9" (help center Change Aspect Ratio article lists "9:16 (Vertical), 1:1 (Square), 16:9 (Landscape) or 4:5 (Portrait)" in the editor) [2]
Export
Free: "Up to 1080p rendered clips"; Starter: "30-day limit; highest resolution available"; Pro/Business: "No limit, highest resolution available"; "4K schedule and download" only on Business (help center 4K article: 4K export on Pro and Enterprise, 4K schedule and post on Enterprise only; requires a genuine 4K source) [2]
Manual editor
"Text & timeline-based editing" on Starter, Pro, Business ("-" on Free); Free card "No editing"; Starter card "Powerful editor" [2]
Brand presets
Free and Starter: "1 template"; Pro: "2 brand templates" on the plan card with 1 pack, 4 from 2 packs (the page's own script), "Up to 4 templates" in the comparison table; Business: "Custom solution" [2]
Edit export
"Export to Adobe Premiere Pro & DaVinci Resolve" on Pro and Business only (tooltip "Export videos as XML files."); help center: export gives a '.xml' and a '.srt' file, "exclusively for Pro Plan users", one short at a time [2]
Translation or dubbing
"Video dubbing" on Pro and Business only; "Multi-language transcription" ("We support transcribing videos in 20+ languages.") on all plans; help center: "translate and dub your videos into 25 languages using a clone of your own voice", charged "10 credits/min" on Pro and Business [2]
Virality score
"Virality score" on Starter, Pro, Business ("-" on Free); tooltip "Get clips ranked based their ability to go viral with our advanced algorithm"; help center: "The Virality score ranges from 0 to 99", Free plan users cannot see it [2]
B-roll, music, titles
"AI image & stock B-Roll": Free "-"; Starter "AI image B-Roll (3 clips/month)" and "Stock B-Roll (3 clips/month)"; Pro/Business "AI image B-Roll (50 clips/day)", "Stock B-Roll (Unlimited)", plus "AI video B-Roll (powered by Agent Opus)" [2]
Publishes to social
Free: post to social media "-"; Starter: "Auto post to YouTube Shorts, TikTok, IG Reels, or download"; Pro/Business: "Social media scheduler", "Post to multiple profiles per social platform", Pro "6 social account connections" with 1 pack, 12 from 2 packs (help center Plans article: "Social media scheduling to YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Linkedin, Facebook, X, Pinterest, Threads, and Bluesky"; credits article: "Each X post or schedule is charged at 3 credits per clip, per X account") [2]
Team seats
"Team workspace" on Pro and Business only ("-" on Free and Starter); Pro "Team workspace with 2 seats", member seats "2 users / pack, up to 4 users"; Business "Unlimited"; sub-teams Business only; member permissions marked "Coming soon" on Business [2]
API
Pro: "Limited API Access" (table: "Video Editing API", "Scheduler API", "MCP connector", Zapier "up to 300 credits/mo"); Business: "API & custom integrations" plus "CMS integration"; all "-" on Free and Starter [2]
Free plan
Yes: "Free forever" "$0 USD /mo", "60 credits per month", "Up to 1080p rendered clips", "Auto reframe", "AI captions with emoji and keyword highlighter", "Has watermark", "No editing", "After 3 days, the clips will no longer be exportable"; comparison table: aspect ratio "9:16" only, Virality score "-", media storage "Expires after 3 days", export as MP4 "3-day limit; Up to 1080p rendered clips" [2]
How you pay
Monthly credits per plan; tooltip "1 credit = 1 minute of video processing"; Pro sold in packs: 1 to 15 packs on yearly billing ("Contact us for more credits" beyond), up to 5 packs on monthly billing ("Get more on yearly"); Starter (monthly only) tooltip "Credit quota resets every month from your subscription date. Unused credits will rollover for one more month."; Pro card on yearly billing, the default view: "300 credits per month", "Unused credits roll over for 2 months" (the same line reads "1 month" when monthly billing is selected); Pro card: "On-demand credit top-ups" (marked New); "Save up to 50% with annual billing" [2]

OpusClip pricing (checked 16 October 2026)

OpusClip plans as listed on opus.pro/pricing, read on 16 October 2026 [2]. By the minute of source video: $0.10 per minute on OpusClip's cheapest plan ($15 a month, Starter, 150 minutes a month), against €0.025 per minute on shortshort Starter, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

OpusClip

  • Free$0 a month, free forever60 credits a month, 1 credit = 1 minuteWatermark, clips up to 1080p in 9:16 onlyNo editing, no virality score, no postingClips stop being exportable after 3 daysImports YouTube links and local files up to 10 GB
  • Starter$15 a month, monthly only150 credits a monthNo watermark, 9:16 only, 1 brand templateVirality score, editor, captions in 20+ languagesAuto post to YouTube Shorts, TikTok, IG ReelsNo team workspace, XML export, scheduler or API
  • Pro$29 a month, or $174 a year ($14.5/mo)300 credits a month per pack9:16, 1:1 and 16:9, uploads up to 30 GB2 seats and 2 brand templates a pack, up to 4 eachDubbing, scheduler, XML export, limited API and MCPUp to 5 packs monthly or 15 yearly, credit top-ups
  • BusinessCustomCustomized credits, seats and social accountsEverything in Pro, unlimited seats and storageAPI and custom integrations, including CMS4K schedule and download, SSO, sub-teamsDedicated queue, Slack support, MSA
As written on their pricing page on 16 October 2026
Free: Free ($0 USD/mo, "Free forever")
60 credits per month (tooltip: 1 credit = 1 minute of video processing); "Local video (Up to 10GB per video)"; auto video import "-"; help center Plans article: importing from YouTube and local files. "Has watermark"; "Up to 1080p rendered clips"; "No editing"; "After 3 days, the clips will no longer be exportable"; 9:16 only; no virality score; "1 template" brand template; captions "With watermark"; media storage "Expires after 3 days"; no post to social media; support: Discord, AI chat
Starter: USD 15/month billed monthly ("$15 billed monthly"; "Starter plan only available in monthly")
"150 credits per month"; "Local video (Up to 10GB per video)"; auto video import "From verified YouTube account"; help center Plans article: additional import sources Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Rumble, StreamYard. "Remove Watermark"; export as MP4 "30-day limit; highest resolution available"; media storage "Expires after 29 days"; 9:16 only; "AI clipping with Virality Score"; "AI animated captions in 20+ languages"; "1 brand template"; "Auto post to YouTube Shorts, TikTok, IG Reels, or download"; "Powerful editor"; "Filler & silence removal"; AI image B-Roll (3 clips/month) and Stock B-Roll (3 clips/month); AI Voice-over 20 per day; no team workspace, no XML export, no social media scheduler, no API, no custom font; support: Discord, AI chat
Pro: USD 29/month billed monthly; USD 14.5/month billed yearly ("$174 billed annually") - monthly price taken
Help center: "300 credits per month per pack" (monthly); yearly: "300 credits per month" on the pricing card; the Agent Opus credits FAQ says "Yearly plan credits are billed annually, but they arrive monthly at the same rate as the monthly plan.", while the OpusClip credits article says "You'll receive the full year's worth of credits immediately upon purchase"; 1 to 15 packs on yearly billing, up to 5 packs on monthly billing; "On-demand credit top-ups"; "Local video (Up to 30GB per video) and Public mp4 url"; "Input from 10+ sources"; auto video import "From verified YouTube account". "Watermark-free video export"; export as MP4 "No limit, highest resolution available"; "100GB fixed storage"; "Multiple aspect ratios (9:16, 1:1, 16:9)"; "Team workspace with 2 seats" / member seats "2 users / pack, up to 4 users"; "2 brand templates" and "6 social account connections" on the card with 1 pack (the page's own script shows 4 templates and 12 connections from 2 packs), "Up to 4 templates" in the comparison table; "On-demand credit top-ups"; "Custom fonts" ("Up to 2 fonts"); "AI B-Roll (supports image, video & stock)" (AI image B-Roll 50 clips/day, Stock B-Roll Unlimited, AI video B-Roll powered by Agent Opus); "Video dubbing"; "Speech enhancement" (10 times/day); "Export to Adobe Premiere Pro & DaVinci Resolve"; "Social media scheduler"; "Post to multiple profiles per social platform"; "Export in bulk"; "Intercom chat support"; "Limited API Access" (Video Editing API, Scheduler API, MCP connector); Zapier integration "up to 300 credits/mo"; 4K schedule and download "-"; auto censor "Default censored words list"; no SSO, no sub-teams, no member permissions
Business: Custom pricing ("Custom pricing and packs", "Contact us")
"Customized credits, team seats and social account connections"; member seats "Unlimited"; media storage "Unlimited"; storage "Customized"; auto video import "Verified YouTube account, CMS, or other cloud servers"; "Local video (Up to 30GB per video) and Public mp4 url". "Everything in the Pro plan, plus:" "Priority project processing" ("Dedicated enterprise queue"), "Tailored business assets: brand templates, fonts, vocabulary & more" (brand template "Custom solution"), "Dedicated storage", "API & custom integrations" (incl. CMS integration), "Master Service Agreement (MSA)", "Priority support with a dedicated Slack channel", "Enterprise-level security" (SSO, SLM); 4K schedule and download; speaker-based caption colors and member permissions both marked "Coming soon"; "Custom censored words list"; sub-teams, real-time trend analysis, custom onboarding, invoice and ACH payment

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: OpusClip or shortshort

shortshort for the price per minute and the cuts; OpusClip when you need bigger files or longer videos. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Price per minute of video€0.025, Starter: €12 for 480 min a month; OpusClip: $0.10, $15 a month, Starter, 150 minutes a month.
  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • Unused credits never expire on shortshort, even after cancelling [2]Monthly credits roll over from one period to the next, and cancelling keeps the credits you hold; the 30 welcome credits are given once. OpusClip, on its own site (read on 16 October 2026): "Unused credits will rollover for one more month".
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where OpusClip may fit better

  • Bigger files [2]10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and up against 2 GB here. Free and Starter accept local videos up to 10 GB; Pro and Business accept up to 30 GB per video plus public mp4 URLs.
  • Longer videos [1]10 h per video, where shortshort is limited by its 2 GB file size. Local files must be no more than 10 GB and up to 10 hours long.
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking [2]Active speaker is identified from voice and motion cues
  • Square or landscape exports [2]9:16 only, plus 1:1 and 16:9 on Pro. Free and Starter render 9:16 only; Pro and Business add 1:1 and 16:9, and the editor help article also lists 4:5.
  • A crop you set by hand [2]Custom reframing from Starter up, moving object tracking on Pro and Business only
  • Translation or dubbing [2]Dubbing on Pro and Business only. Transcription covers 20+ languages on all plans; dubbing into 25 languages with a clone of your voice is Pro and Business only, at 10 credits a minute.
  • Virality score [2]Yes from Starter up, not on Free. Clips are ranked 0 to 99 by their ability to go viral; Free plan users cannot see the score.
  • B-roll, music, titles [2]Yes from Starter, none on Free. Starter gets 3 AI image and 3 stock B-roll clips a month; Pro and Business get 50 AI image clips a day, unlimited stock, and AI video B-roll.
  • Team seats [2]Pro and Business only, 2 seats on Pro. Pro workspace has 2 users per pack up to 4 users; Business is unlimited, with sub-teams; member permissions are marked coming soon.
  • API [2]Limited on Pro, API and custom integrations on Business. Pro gets Video Editing API, Scheduler API, MCP connector and Zapier up to 300 credits a month; Business adds custom and CMS integrations.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

OpusClip alternative: questions people ask

Is OpusClip free?

Yes. OpusClip's own site lists a lasting free plan. On OpusClip: Free forever, 60 min a month, watermark, 3-day export. Clips render up to 1080p in 9:16 only, no editor, no virality score, no posting, and clips stop being exportable after 3 days (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How much does OpusClip cost?

OpusClip's pricing page lists 4 plans. On OpusClip: Free, $0 a month, free forever (60 credits a month, 1 credit = 1 minute); Starter, $15 a month, monthly only (150 credits a month); Pro, $29 a month, or $174 a year ($14.5/mo) (300 credits a month per pack); Business, Custom (Customized credits, seats and social accounts) (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). They are listed on this page under "OpusClip pricing (checked 16 October 2026)". By the minute of source video, that is $0.10 per minute on OpusClip's cheapest plan ($15 a month, Starter), against €0.025 per minute on shortshort Starter, before VAT. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

Is OpusClip worth the money?

It depends on the job. On OpusClip: $15 a month, Starter, 150 minutes a month (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). By the minute of source video, that is $0.10 per minute on OpusClip's cheapest plan, against €0.025 per minute on shortshort Starter, before VAT, whatever the number of shorts. OpusClip may be worth its price if you need bigger files, longer videos and a crop that follows whoever is speaking, according to its own site. shortshort has no virality score: its "What to look for" setting takes Auto, one of 7 presets (funny moments, key insights, stories and anecdotes, strong opinions, emotional moments, tips and how-to or quotable lines) or your own description of up to 200 characters; the AI favors those moments, while duration and complete sentences still come first. To compare both on your own video, start with the 30 free credits.

How do OpusClip credits work?

On OpusClip: Monthly credits, 1 credit = 1 minute. Credits roll over one more month, two on yearly Pro. Pro sells up to 5 packs monthly or 15 yearly, plus credit top-ups; their help pages differ on yearly credit timing (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). On shortshort, 1 credit is 1 minute of source video whatever the number of shorts, each video rounded up to the next minute, and unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling. To see what your monthly volume costs on each, use the calculator of the price per minute index.

Do OpusClip credits expire?

Yes, according to its own help center. On OpusClip: "Upgrading from a monthly Starter or Pro plan to a yearly plan provides cheaper credits with a 12 month expiration, compared to the 60 day limit on monthly plans" (their help center, read on 24 October 2026). Its pricing page adds "Unused credits will rollover for one more month" (read on 16 October 2026). On shortshort, unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling; the 30 welcome credits are given once.

What is a free alternative to OpusClip?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good OpusClip alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. OpusClip may fit better if you need bigger files, longer videos and a crop that follows whoever is speaking, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from OpusClip.

How long can a video be on OpusClip and on shortshort?

On shortshort, one file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours on every plan; the file size is what usually limits, and how many hours fit depends on the bitrate. On OpusClip: 10 h per video. Local files must be no more than 10 GB and up to 10 hours long (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How do captions compare between OpusClip and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On OpusClip: yes, animated captions in 20+ languages (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

What if a YouTube link won't import?

On shortshort, a YouTube import takes the link of your own public or unlisted YouTube video, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio. It needs a free account. Private, age-restricted and live videos cannot be imported, and YouTube sometimes refuses downloads from servers: if an import fails, upload the file instead. A file upload takes MP4, MOV or WebM up to 2 GB and does not go through YouTube. On OpusClip: upload or link, YouTube, Drive, Zoom, Vimeo and more (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

Less than a third of the price per minute of OpusClip, and cuts that finish the sentence.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.