shortshort
COMPARISON

Submagic alternative: shortshort vs Submagic.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT. Below, side by side with Submagic: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs Submagic: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT. 30 minutes are free, no card.

Submagic is an AI short-form editor: captions, clips, silence removal and B-roll. It may fit better for bigger files, square or landscape exports, a crop you set by hand; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here, $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on at Submagic
Free plan
30 credits once here, trial only at Submagic

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The Submagic column is derived from Submagic's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. Their pricing page opens on yearly billing; monthly prices are read from its monthly toggle. Long-video clipping (Magic Clips) is a paid add-on on top of a plan, per their help center.

CriterionshortshortSubmagic
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file size, 12 hours at mostOne file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours, on every plan; below that, how many hours fit in 2 GB depends on the bitrate.2 h for Magic Clips; plan cards say 2 to 30 min [1] [2] [3]The Magic Clips docs give 120 minutes and a FAQ says videos up to 2 hours are accepted; plan cards list a 2, 5 or 30 min video duration.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.10 GB via the API, 3,000 MB in the app [4] [3] [5]Their help center caps each video at 3,000 MB; the API docs give 10 GB and 120 minutes for Magic Clips uploads and 2 GB for caption projects.
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Upload or YouTube link [6]Any video file or link, including podcasts, YouTube videos and phone footage; Google Drive folder sync is stated on the integrations page.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.Auto-framing centers subject, speaker detection not stated [7]Automatic subject centering for portrait videos with manual override; no explicit active-speaker or multi-speaker detection claim.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, 123 languages [2]Automatic captions with emojis, keyword highlights and animations; dozens of templates; accuracy stated as 98%, the hero says 99%.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16, 4:5, 1:1, 16:9 or original [2]Export from 720p to 4K in five aspect ratios; upload accepts any standard format in any aspect ratio.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.1080p, 4K on Business [1]Starter 1080p at 30 FPS, Pro 1080p (table also says 2K), Business 4K at 60 FPS.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes, timeline and text-based trimming [8]Precision timeline trimmer, delete transcript text to cut the video, manual remove silence and filler words buttons.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Brand Kit and custom templates on Pro and up [1]Starter has none; Pro gets Brand Kit, custom fonts and 3 templates; Business adds logos, brand assets and 5, 10 or unlimited templates depending on the card or table.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.Not stated on their siteSRT subtitle download is stated; no Premiere, DaVinci, XML or EDL export is mentioned.
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Translated subtitles only, no dubbing [9]Translates subtitles into 48+ languages (another line says 100+) and keeps the original audio; no AI dubbing or voice cloning.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes, AI identifies moments with high virality score [10]AI identifies key moments with a high virality score and generates multiple clips.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Yes, auto b-roll plus stock audio [11] [1]Magic B-rolls adds clips from the transcript in seconds; free library on Starter, Storyblocks premium and movie clips on Pro and Business.
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.TikTok, Instagram, YouTube Shorts on Pro and up [12] [13]Scheduling needs Pro or Business; the scheduler page calls LinkedIn, Facebook and X coming soon, while the API docs already list them for publishing.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one login1 user Starter, 3 Pro, unlimited Business [1]Priced per member per month; the Custom plan offers a custom number of members.
APINoneYes, 10 min a month, 100 on Business [14] [1] [15] [13]Video editing API with captions, b-roll, zooms, long-to-short, webhooks and an MCP server; extra packs from $0.23 to $0.10 per minute after buying a plan.
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free trial of 3 short videos, watermarked [16] [2] [12]Their help center says a subscription removes the watermark; free accounts can publish one video with Publish Now; no free plan card on the pricing page.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Credits per member, Magic Clips add-on extra [1] [17] [18] [19]45, 120 or 300 credits a month on Starter, Pro and Business, priced per member; Magic Clips, the long-video clipper, is a $19 a month add-on for 10 uploads.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each Submagic cell, as read on their site
Longest video
Per plan: "2 min video duration" (Starter), "5 min video duration" (Pro), "30 min video duration" (Business), "Custom minutes / video" (Custom plan); auto-video-editor FAQ: "Videos up to 2 hours are accepted."; Magic Clips API docs: "Max duration: 120 minutes" [1] [2] [3]
Largest file
Their help center: "The maximum file size per video is 3,000 MB" (the video length limit "depends on your subscription plan"); Magic Clips upload docs: "Max size: 10GB - Max duration: 120 minutes"; the caption project upload docs say "Max size: 2GB - Max duration: 2 hours" [4] [3] [5]
How the video gets in
"Upload a video or Youtube link"; "Drop any video or link. Podcasts, YouTube videos, or phone footage. All formats work." [6]
Crop follows the face
"auto-framing for vertical formats" with "automatic subject centering for perfect portrait format videos"; "manual override options" for framing; no explicit multi-speaker/active-speaker detection claim [7]
Automatic captions
"Generate captions in 123 languages" with "98% accuracy" (hero says 99%); AI Auto Edit "generates captions from your audio, adds emojis, highlights key words, applies animations"; "pick from dozens of templates or customize typography, colors, and animations"; exact template count not stated [2]
Aspect ratios
"You can export from 720p to 4K in five aspect ratios: 9:16, 4:5, 1:1, 16:9, or original"; upload "any standard format in any aspect ratio" [2]
Export
"Export in 4k & 60 FPS" on Business (table: "1080p, 4K", "30 FPS, 60 FPS"); Starter "1080p" 30 FPS; Pro card "1080p & 30 FPS" but table "1080p, 2K" [1]
Manual editor
Yes: "Use the timeline trimmer or text-based trimming for easy manual editing"; "Precision Timeline Trimmer"; "Trim Directly from the Transcript" ("Delete text to cut the video"); manual "Remove silence" and "Remove filler words" buttons [8]
Brand presets
"Brand Kit" (Pro and up), "Custom Fonts" (Pro and up), "Create 10 custom templates", "Add logos & brand assets", "Custom words dictionary" (Business); comparison table: Custom Templates "-" Starter, "3 templates" Pro, "5 templates" Business; "Unlimited custom templates" on Custom plan [1]
Edit export
Not stated on their site.
Translation or dubbing
Subtitle translation only: "Automatically translate your video in 48+ languages" (body also says "100+ languages"); "This isn't robotic voice cloning or uncanny valley lip sync", it "keeps your original audio" and adds translated subtitles; no AI dubbing [9]
Virality score
"Artificial intelligence identifies key moments with high virality score & generates multiple clips" [10]
B-roll, music, titles
"Magic B-rolls" button "adds b-rolls in a few seconds" automatically from the transcript; manual add via "+" on a subtitle line; library of "royalty free or premium images, movies, Gifs, static images, or even upload your own" (pricing: "Free b-rolls & audio" Starter, "Storyblocks b-rolls & audio" / "Premium + Movie clips" Pro and Business) [11] [1]
Publishes to social
"Submagic currently supports publishing and scheduling to TikTok, Instagram (Reels and Stories), and YouTube Shorts. LinkedIn, Facebook, and X (Twitter) are coming soon."; "Scheduling posts for a future date and time requires a Pro or Business plan"; free accounts can Publish Now one video; the API docs' Publish Project endpoint posts "to one or more connected social platforms (YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, X/Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn)", the three the scheduler page still calls coming soon included [12] [13]
Team seats
Priced "/member/mo"; comparison table "Users/Workspace": "1 user" (Starter), "3 users" (Pro), "Unlimited" (Business); "Custom number of members" on Custom plan [1]
API
Yes: "Video editing API" with auto captions "in over 100 languages", Magic b-rolls, magic zooms, background music, long-to-short ("With just a YouTube link or file upload"), transcript with timecode, webhooks, "Upload video by URL or file"; pricing: "API & Integrations (10min/mo)" Starter/Pro, "(100min/mo)" Business, extra packs from $0.23/min to $0.10/min; the API docs add an "MCP Server" page ("Connect Submagic to Claude, Claude Code, Cursor, and other MCP clients"), using "The same key and credits that work for the REST API", and a Publish Project endpoint [14] [1] [15] [13]
Free plan
Free trial, not a plan card on the pricing page: their help center answers "Does Submagic have a Free Trial" with "Yes we do!", "You can upload your videos for free to see what our software does.", "You'll be able to upload 3 short videos and edit them the way you want" and "If you choose a subscription, you'll be able to download it without a watermark"; the auto-video-editor FAQ says "You start free with limited exports. Upgrade when you need more."; scheduler page FAQ: "Free accounts can publish one video via Publish Now, no credit card required" [16] [2] [12]
How you pay
Monthly credits per member: "45 credits = 15 videos" (Starter), "120 credits = 40 videos" (Pro), "300 credits = 100 videos" (Business), priced "/member/mo"; plus per-plan max video duration and separate API minute packs ("Add credit packs after purchasing a plan"). Long-video clipping is sold apart: their help center says "Magic Clips is an addon subscription" and "You can also add Magic Clips Add-On to your subscription for just $19 per month. It offer 10 video uploads."; the pricing page itself shows no add-on and lists "Custom Magic Clips limits" only on the Custom plan, while a tooltip on its credit counts says "Credits are consumed when using premium features like captions, B-roll, or Magic Clips"; their API docs require a "Magic Clips subscription" for the Magic Clips endpoint, whose clips "use your regular Magic Clips credits, not API credits" [1] [17] [18] [19]

Submagic pricing (checked 16 October 2026)

Submagic plans as listed on submagic.co/pricing, read on 16 October 2026 [1]. Submagic's cheapest plan is $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on: 10 Magic Clips uploads a month, so its price per minute cannot be compared with shortshort's €0.025 per minute, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

Submagic

  • Starter$19 a month per member45 credits = 15 videos a month$12 a month per member billed yearly2 min max video duration, 1080p 30 FPS1 user, no custom templates or publishingFree b-rolls and audio, API 10 min a month
  • Pro$39 a month per member120 credits = 40 videos a month$23 a month per member billed yearly5 min max video duration, 1080p (table says 2K)3 users, Brand Kit, custom fonts, 3 templatesPublish and schedule, 1 profile per platform
  • Business$69 a month per member300 credits = 100 videos a month$41 a month per member billed yearly30 min max video duration, 4K at 60 FPSUnlimited users, 3 profiles per platformAPI 100 min a month, priority rendering
  • Custom PlanContact salesCustom videos, minutes and membersCustom Magic Clips and API limitsUnlimited custom templatesDedicated customer success, SSO
  • API Credits (add-on packs)$57 to $1000 a month250 to 10,000 API minutes a month$0.23 per minute at 250 min$0.10 per minute at 5,000 min and upRequires an existing plan
  • Magic Clips add-on$19 a month on top of a plan10 long-video uploads a monthNeeded for Magic Clips, long video to shortsRead in their help center, not the pricing page
As written on their pricing page on 16 October 2026
Starter: USD 19/member/month billed monthly (USD 12/member/month billed yearly, "Save $84")
45 credits = 15 videos per month ("15 videos per member/month"); 2 min video duration; API & Integrations (10min/mo). Export in 1080p & 30 FPS; No watermark; AI Auto captions; Free b-rolls & audio; Text-based trimming; comparison table: Caption Templates "Standard", B-Roll "Standard", Custom Templates "-", Custom Fonts "-", Publish to social media "-", Users/Workspace "1 user"
Pro: USD 39/member/month billed monthly (USD 23/member/month billed yearly, "Save $192")
120 credits = 40 videos per month ("40 videos per member/month"); 5 min video duration; API & Integrations (10min/mo). Card says "Export in 1080p & 30 FPS", comparison table says "1080p, 2K" at 30 FPS; No watermark; Storyblocks b-rolls & audio ("Premium + Movie clips"); AI Auto zooms; AI Remove bad takes & silences; AI Clean audio; Publish & analytics for social (1 publishing profile per platform); Brand Kit; Custom Fonts; 3 custom templates; Users/Workspace "3 users"; labelled MOST POPULAR
Business: USD 69/member/month billed monthly (USD 41/member/month billed yearly, "Save $336")
300 credits = 100 videos per month ("Up to 100 videos per member/month"); 30 min video duration; API & Integrations (100min/mo). Export in 4k & 60 FPS (table: "1080p, 4K", "30 FPS, 60 FPS"); No watermark; "Create 10 custom templates" in card but "5 templates" in comparison table; Add logos & brand assets; Custom words dictionary; Priority support & rendering; Publish from multiple social accounts (3 publishing profiles per platform); Users/Workspace "Unlimited"; table header "Business + API"
Custom Plan: Contact sales
Custom videos / month; Custom minutes / video; Custom number of members; Custom Magic Clips limits; Custom API limits. Unlimited custom templates; Dedicated customer success; Advanced Security and SSO
API Credits (add-on packs): USD 57/month for 250 min ($0.23/min); USD 75/month for 500 min ($0.15/min); USD 150/month for 1,000 min ($0.15/min); USD 300/month for 2,000 min ($0.15/min); USD 500/month for 5,000 min ($0.10/min); USD 1000/month for 10,000 min ($0.10/min)
API minutes: "Need more API minutes? Add credit packs after purchasing a plan.". Requires an existing plan
Magic Clips add-on: USD 19/month (help center: "just $19 per month"), on top of a plan; not shown on the pricing page
"It offer 10 video uploads"; Magic Clips turns long videos into clips ("Magic Clips is an addon subscription"). Read in their help center, not on the pricing page; the help center says it is added "to your subscription", and the pricing page lists "Custom Magic Clips limits" only on the Custom plan

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: Submagic or shortshort

shortshort for the cuts and the framing; Submagic when you need bigger files or square or landscape exports. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • Framing that follows the face, with automatic zoomsFace and scene tracking move the 9:16 crop; automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where Submagic may fit better

  • Bigger files [4] [3] [5]10 GB via API, 3,000 MB in app against 2 GB here. Their help center caps each video at 3,000 MB; the API docs give 10 GB and 120 minutes for Magic Clips uploads and 2 GB for caption projects.
  • Square or landscape exports [2]9:16, 4:5, 1:1, 16:9 or original. Export from 720p to 4K in five aspect ratios; upload accepts any standard format in any aspect ratio.
  • A crop you set by hand [7]Automatic subject centering for portrait videos with manual override
  • Translation or dubbing [9]Translated subtitles only, no dubbing. Translates subtitles into 48+ languages (another line says 100+) and keeps the original audio; no AI dubbing or voice cloning.
  • Virality score [10]Yes, AI identifies moments with high virality score. AI identifies key moments with a high virality score and generates multiple clips.
  • B-roll, music, titles [11] [1]Yes, auto b-roll plus stock audio. Magic B-rolls adds clips from the transcript in seconds; free library on Starter, Storyblocks premium and movie clips on Pro and Business.
  • Team seats [1]1 user Starter, 3 Pro, unlimited Business. Priced per member per month; the Custom plan offers a custom number of members.
  • API [14] [1] [15] [13]Yes, 10 min a month, 100 on Business. Video editing API with captions, b-roll, zooms, long-to-short, webhooks and an MCP server; extra packs from $0.23 to $0.10 per minute after buying a plan.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

Submagic alternative: questions people ask

Is Submagic free?

Only as a trial. Submagic's own site offers a trial rather than a lasting free plan. On Submagic: Free trial of 3 short videos, watermarked. Their help center says a subscription removes the watermark; free accounts can publish one video with Publish Now; no free plan card on the pricing page (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How much does Submagic cost?

Submagic's pricing page lists 6 plans. On Submagic: Starter, $19 a month per member (45 credits = 15 videos a month); Pro, $39 a month per member (120 credits = 40 videos a month); Business, $69 a month per member (300 credits = 100 videos a month); Custom Plan, Contact sales (Custom videos, minutes and members); API Credits (add-on packs), $57 to $1000 a month (250 to 10,000 API minutes a month); Magic Clips add-on, $19 a month on top of a plan (10 long-video uploads a month) (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). They are listed on this page under "Submagic pricing (checked 16 October 2026)". Submagic's cheapest plan is $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on: 10 Magic Clips uploads a month, so its price per minute cannot be compared. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

What is a free alternative to Submagic?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good Submagic alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. Submagic may fit better if you need bigger files, square or landscape exports and a crop you set by hand, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from Submagic.

How long can a video be on Submagic and on shortshort?

On shortshort, one file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours on every plan; the file size is what usually limits, and how many hours fit depends on the bitrate. On Submagic: 2 h for Magic Clips; plan cards say 2 to 30 min. The Magic Clips docs give 120 minutes and a FAQ says videos up to 2 hours are accepted; plan cards list a 2, 5 or 30 min video duration (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How do captions compare between Submagic and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On Submagic: yes, 123 languages (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

Can I try shortshort before leaving Submagic?

Yes. The 30 free credits cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video, no card needed. Your upload and drafts stay private until you export: an exported short is published to the community with its full source video and the transcript of the short, unless your account is set to keep it out, which every paid plan can do.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.