shortshort
ALTERNATIVES · BY PRICE PER MINUTE

Submagic alternatives in 2026, by price per minute.

12 alternatives to Submagic, shortshort included, with Submagic itself in the table for reference. For each: the price per minute of source video, then the free plan, the longest video, the largest file, link import, captions and publishing, each from the tool's own site and dated. The lowest price per minute comes first; each tool's section says where it fits better than shortshort.

How this list is sorted

Sorted by the price per minute of source video of each tool's cheapest paid plan that cuts a long video into shorts, as computed in the price per minute index; tools that do not sell by the minute come last, by name.

Every figure comes from the tool's own site, read on 16 October 2026; the last column gives the date of each reading. US dollars are converted at the ECB reference rate of 16 October 2026 (1 USD = €0.889) only to sort; shortshort prices are before VAT.

Not stated means the tool's own site does not say it. A price per minute says nothing about quality, and this list does not rank it.

Submagic and 12 alternatives, side by side

Cheapest per minute first; tools that do not sell by the minute come last, by name. Every plan of the tools that sell by the minute is in the price per minute index.

ToolPrice per minuteFree planLongest videoLargest fileLink importCaptionsPublishingRead on
Ssemble$0.025, about €0.022
Pro, $15 a month for 600 min
No free plan; free preview clips, download needs a plan30 min upload; longer by link1 GB per uploadUpload files or paste YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, KickYes, burned into every clip by defaultYes, to TikTok, YouTube and Instagram16 October 2026
shortshort (this site)€0.025
Starter, €12 a month for 480 min, before VAT
30 credits once, no card, no monthly refillSet by the 2 GB file size2 GB per fileYour own YouTube video, up to 720pWord by word, 4 stylesYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early access17 October 2026, from the product
Reap$0.028, about €0.025
Creator, $16.99 a month for 600 min
Free forever, 1 h a month, watermarked 720p3 h for AI clipping10 GB on Creator and StudioUpload or link, YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch and XYes, 100+ languages on every planPaid plans only, publish and schedule16 October 2026
Descript$0.04, about €0.036
Hobbyist, $24 a month for 600 min
Free, 60 min a month, 720p, 100 AI credits onceNot stated1 GB free, 50 GB on BusinessNot statedYes, animated captions, unlimited on all plansYouTube, web app only, no Shorts16 October 2026
Vizard$0.048, about €0.043
Creator, $29 a month for 600 min
Free plan, 60 credits a month, watermark, 720p10 h per video on paid plans1 GB free, 30 GB on paidUpload or link: YouTube, Drive, Vimeo, TikTok, moreYes, auto subtitles on all plansYes, TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Facebook16 October 2026
OpusClip$0.10, about €0.089
Starter, $15 a month for 150 min
Free forever, 60 min a month, watermark, 3-day export10 h per video10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and upUpload or link, YouTube, Drive, Zoom, Vimeo and moreYes, animated captions in 20+ languagesYes from Starter, scheduler on Pro16 October 2026
CapCutNo price per minute
Long video minutes not published. EUR 23.99 a month, Pro, as shown in France
Free plan; long video minutes shown after sign-inUnder 3 h per videoUnder 10 GB per videoNot statedYes, caption templates, 24 languages listedYes, direct sharing to TikTok, YouTube and more16 October 2026
CaptionsNo price per minute
Credits, minutes not stated. $24.99 a month, Max, first plan with Clips
Permanent, but their pages disagree on its credits3 h for Clips, 60 min import10 GB for ClipsUpload, video URL, in-app camera, text promptYes, 101 languages and 100+ stylesPublishing claimed, absent from their own docs16 October 2026
KapwingNo price per minute
Credits, not minutes. $24 per member a month, Pro ($16 billed yearly)
Permanent free plan, watermarked exportsUploads over 2 h if under 6 GB6 GB paid, 2 GB or 250 MB freeUpload, paste a link, or record in browserYes, automatic, metered by planPublishes to Facebook, TikTok, YouTube, no scheduling16 October 2026
KlapNo price per minute
Sells clips, not minutes. $29 a month, Basic
One free video, no credit card required4 h per upload2 GB, no limit via URLUpload or link: YouTube, Vimeo, Twitch, DriveYes, 52 languages, keyword highlightsYes, share and schedule to 4 platforms16 October 2026
SendShortNo price per minute
Monthly quota counted per short, not minutes. $29 a month, Professional ($19 Starter cannot clip long videos)
No trial per the pricing FAQ, other pages say freeNot statedNot statedFile upload or a YouTube linkYes, word by word, 100+ languagesYes, schedules to TikTok and YouTube16 October 2026
Submagicthe tool this list is aboutNo price per minute
Sells videos, not minutes. $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on
Free trial, 3 short videos, watermark until you subscribe2 h per video for Magic Clips10 GB via API, 3,000 MB in appUpload or YouTube linkYes, 123 languagesTikTok, Instagram, YouTube Shorts on Pro and up16 October 2026
VEEDNo price per minute
Credits, no minute quota. EUR 22 per user a month, Creator, as shown in France
Lasting free tier, watermark, AI editing tools try onceUp to 3 h of speech1 GB free, no cap on paidNot statedYes, 100+ languages, 10 min a month freeNot offered, you upload the export yourself16 October 2026

Each tool, in the order of the table

What it is in its own words, its entry price, its free plan, and where it may fit better than shortshort, from its own site.

Ssemble

Ssemble reassembles a long video into vertical shorts, with captions and posting.

Entry plan: Pro, $15 a month for 600 minutes of source video, $0.025, about €0.022 per minute.

Free plan: No free plan; free preview clips, download needs a plan.

Where Ssemble may fit better

  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Auto layout centres the speaking face and falls back to Fit when no face is found, and a sports mode follows the ball instead of faces (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Translated captions yes, dubbing no (source)
  • Virality score: Yes, a 0 to 100 viral score (source)
  • B-roll, music, titles: Yes, b-roll, music, effects, hooks and CTA (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: ssemble.com/pricing, help.ssemble.com/docs/billing/free-trial-is-not-supported, help.ssemble.com/docs/make-clips/advanced-editing-features, ssemble.com, help.ssemble.com/docs/automations/choosing-the-right-clip-settings.

shortshort vs Ssemble, criterion by criterion

shortshort

shortshort cuts one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, choosing passages that open and close on complete sentences; the 9:16 crop follows the face on screen, with automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6, and every caption word is timed on the audio.

Entry plan: Starter, €12 a month before VAT for 480 minutes of source video, €0.025 per minute; 1 credit is 1 minute of source, whatever the number of shorts.

Free plan: 30 credits once at sign-up, no card, up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default.

Where it fits

  • How it charges: 1 credit per minute of source, whatever the number of shorts, up to 20 per video on the Studio plan. 5 other tools in this table also sell by the minute of video; the table puts the prices side by side.
  • Cuts on complete sentences: The end of each short is checked against the transcript.
  • Credits that roll over: Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling. Reap and Ssemble also say that some or all of their credits never expire, on the terms of their own sites.

From the product, checked on 17 October 2026.

shortshort plans and credits

Reap

Reap is an AI video editor that turns long videos into clips, with dubbing and social publishing alongside.

Entry plan: Creator, $16.99 a month for 600 minutes of source video, $0.028, about €0.025 per minute.

Free plan: Free forever, 1 h a month, watermarked 720p.

Where Reap may fit better

  • Bigger files: 10 GB on Creator and Studio against 2 GB here (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Auto speaker detection and tracking is ticked for Creator, Studio and Enterprise and dashed for Free, and it only applies when the clip is cropped (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 on paid plans (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Paid plans only, dubbing in 80+ languages (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: reap.video/pricing, docs.reap.video/help-center/how-to-create-viral-clips, docs.reap.video/help-center/face-tracking.

shortshort vs Reap, criterion by criterion

Descript

Descript is a text-based video and audio editor with clipping as one of its features.

Entry plan: Hobbyist, $24 a month for 600 minutes of source video, $0.04, about €0.036 per minute.

Free plan: Free, 60 min a month, 720p, 100 AI credits once.

Where Descript may fit better

  • Bigger files: 1 GB free, 50 GB on Business against 2 GB here (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Center Active Speaker, limited on Free (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16 and 1:1 presets, more layouts available (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Captions in 61 languages, dubbing in 30 (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: descript.com/pricing, help.descript.com/repurpose/create-clips-from-your-content.

shortshort vs Descript, criterion by criterion

Vizard

Vizard turns a long video into short clips for TikTok, Instagram and YouTube Shorts.

Entry plan: Creator, $29 a month for 600 minutes of source video, $0.048, about €0.043 per minute.

Free plan: Free plan, 60 credits a month, watermark, 720p.

Where Vizard may fit better

  • Bigger files: 1 GB free, 30 GB on paid against 2 GB here (source)
  • Longer videos: 10 h per video on paid plans, where shortshort is limited by its 2 GB file size (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16, 1:1, 4:5 and 16:9 (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Subtitle translation on paid plans, dubbing via Agent (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: vizard.ai/pricing, docs.vizard.ai/docs/advanced, vizard.ai/tools/video-translator.

shortshort vs Vizard, criterion by criterion

OpusClip

OpusClip turns long videos into shorts and publishes them to social platforms.

Entry plan: Starter, $15 a month for 150 minutes of source video, $0.10, about €0.089 per minute.

Free plan: Free forever, 60 min a month, watermark, 3-day export.

Where OpusClip may fit better

  • Bigger files: 10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and up against 2 GB here (source)
  • Longer videos: 10 h per video, where shortshort is limited by its 2 GB file size (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Active speaker is identified from voice and motion cues (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16 only, plus 1:1 and 16:9 on Pro (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: opus.pro/pricing, help.opus.pro/docs/article/video-length.

shortshort vs OpusClip, criterion by criterion

CapCut

CapCut is an AI photo and video editor with a tool that turns long videos into shorts.

Entry plan: EUR 23.99 a month, Pro, as shown in France; Minutes per plan not published, so no price per minute.

Free plan: Free plan; long video minutes shown after sign-in.

Where CapCut may fit better

  • Bigger files: Under 10 GB per video against 2 GB here (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16 from 16:9; the editor resizes further (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Yes, caption translation; AI dubbing tool (source)
  • B-roll, music, titles: Stock footage and music in the editor, no auto B-roll (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: capcut.com/pricing, capcut.com/editor-tools/long-video-to-shorts, capcut.com/tools/long-video-to-shorts, capcut.com/tools/auto-caption-generator, capcut.com/tools/online-video-editor.

shortshort vs CapCut, criterion by criterion

Captions

Captions is an AI video editor built around captions, avatars and post-production automation.

Entry plan: $24.99 a month, Max, first plan with Clips; 500 credits a month, minutes not stated, so no price per minute.

Free plan: Permanent, but their pages disagree on its credits.

Where Captions may fit better

  • Bigger files: 10 GB for Clips against 2 GB here (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Yes, reframes to follow whoever is talking (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Yes, dubbing in 31 languages, subtitles 100+ (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: captions.ai/pricing, captions.ai/help/docs/project/clips, captions.ai/help/docs/settings/scale-and-format, captions.ai/help/docs/captions/dubbing.

shortshort vs Captions, criterion by criterion

Kapwing

Kapwing is a browser video editor that also generates videos from a prompt.

Entry plan: $24 per member a month, Pro ($16 billed yearly); 1,000 credits a month, not minutes, so no price per minute.

Free plan: Permanent free plan, watermarked exports.

Where Kapwing may fit better

  • Bigger files: 6 GB paid, 2 GB or 250 MB free against 2 GB here (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Yes, Auto Speaker Focus reframes on speakers (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: Presets plus custom sizes, 9:16 default (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Yes, translated subtitles and dubbed audio (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: kapwing.com/pricing, kapwing.com/help/subscription-faq, kapwing.com/ai/auto-speaker-focus, kapwing.com/tools/resize, kapwing.com/tools/translate.

shortshort vs Kapwing, criterion by criterion

Klap

Klap makes TikToks, Reels and Shorts from long videos in one click.

Entry plan: $29 a month, Basic; 100 clips a month, not minutes, so no price per minute.

Free plan: One free video, no credit card required.

Where Klap may fit better

  • Longer videos: 4 h per upload, where shortshort is limited by its 2 GB file size (source)
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Yes, AI Reframe follows the active speaker (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9 (source)
  • A crop you set by hand: Yes, editor with reframing, captions, templates (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: klap.app/pricing, klap.app, klap.app/tools/video-to-shorts-converter, klap.app/tools/ai-clip-maker, klap.app/tools/podcast-clip-maker, klap.app/tools/long-video-to-short-video-converter.

shortshort vs Klap, criterion by criterion

SendShort

SendShort is an AI shorts creator that turns long videos into captioned shorts and also runs from AI assistants.

Entry plan: $29 a month, Professional ($19 Starter cannot clip long videos); 50 shorts a month, not minutes, so no price per minute.

Free plan: No trial per the pricing FAQ, other pages say free.

Where SendShort may fit better

  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking: Yes, centers the face of whoever speaks (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16; 1:1 and 16:9 on Business (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Caption translation, dubbing on the API page only (source)
  • Virality score: Moments scored, no per-clip score described (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: sendshort.ai/pricing, sendshort.ai/tools/clip-maker, sendshort.ai.

shortshort vs SendShort, criterion by criterion

Submagic (the tool this list is about)

Submagic is an AI short-form editor: captions, clips, silence removal and B-roll.

Entry plan: $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on; 10 Magic Clips uploads a month, so no price per minute.

Free plan: Free trial, 3 short videos, watermark until you subscribe.

Where Submagic may fit better

  • Bigger files: 10 GB via API, 3,000 MB in app against 2 GB here (source)
  • Square or landscape exports: 9:16, 4:5, 1:1, 16:9 or original (source)
  • A crop you set by hand: Automatic subject centering for portrait videos with manual override (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Translated subtitles only, no dubbing (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: submagic.co/pricing, care.submagic.co/en/article/does-submagic-have-a-free-trial-7opyg3, care.submagic.co/en/article/what-is-the-size-and-video-length-limit-for-each-video-in-submagic-gl84of, submagic.co/features/auto-video-editor, submagic.co/ai-clip-maker, submagic.co/features/ai-video-translator.

shortshort vs Submagic, criterion by criterion

VEED

VEED is a browser video editor with AI generation, captions and brand tools.

Entry plan: EUR 22 per user a month, Creator, as shown in France; No minute cap, 500 credits a month, so no price per minute.

Free plan: Lasting free tier, watermark, AI editing tools try once.

Where VEED may fit better

  • Square or landscape exports: Portrait or landscape for clips (source)
  • Translation or dubbing: Yes, translation on all plans, dubbing from Pro (source)
  • Virality score: Yes, four scores out of 10 per clip (source)
  • B-roll, music, titles: Yes, AI b-roll plus stock music and video (source)

Read on 16 October 2026. Sources: veed.io/pricing, veed.io/tools/resize-video, support.veed.io/en/articles/12781545-supported-languages-for-dubbing, veed.io/tools/auto-video-editor/ai-clip-generator, support.veed.io/en/articles/11829765-how-to-use-ai-b-roll.

shortshort vs VEED, criterion by criterion

Where shortshort is not the right pick

Computed from the price index and from what the tools in this list state on their own sites, so it changes when their pages do.

Free minutes every month, where shortshort gives 30 once

quso.ai (75 min), Descript (60 min), Gling (60 min), OpusClip (60 min), Reap (60 min), Vizard (60 min), 2short (30 min), Spikes Studio (30 min) and Wisecut (30 min) give free minutes every month; shortshort gives 30 minutes once, at sign-up. Each of these monthly allowances is at least as large as shortshort's one-time gift. Someone whose monthly volume stays within one of these free allowances pays nothing there each month; shortshort's 30 minutes are given once, and after they are used every minute is paid. Free plans come with their own limits, such as watermarks or a lower export resolution; each tool's compare page lists them. Not counted, because their own pages say downloads on the free plan are locked or need a paid plan: Choppity (60 min a month, "Free exports carry a Choppity watermark / downloads locked").

Sources: quso.ai/pricing, descript.com/pricing, gling.ai/pricing, opus.pro/pricing, reap.video/pricing, vizard.ai/pricing, 2short.ai/pricing, spikes.studio/pricing, wisecut.ai/pricing, choppity.com/pricing.

Ssemble is cheaper per minute at the entry price

Ssemble Pro: $15 a month for 30 credits × 20 min = 600 min, $0.025, about €0.022 per minute, against €0.025 on shortshort Starter (€12 for 480 minutes, before VAT), about 11% less. The compare pages call a gap under 15% between two currencies a tie, because the rate moves. Each video is counted in whole blocks of 20 minutes: their help centre gives "10-minute video = 1 credit" and "45-minute video = 3 credits". Expert and Business include bonus credits.

Sources: ssemble.com/pricing.

Larger plans elsewhere undercut Starter and Creator

2short Premium ($0.017, about €0.015), Descript Creator ($0.019, about €0.017), Ssemble Business ($0.02, about €0.018), Ssemble Expert ($0.021, about €0.019), 2short Pro ($0.022, about €0.02), WayinVideo Scale ($0.023, about €0.021), WayinVideo Pro ($0.027, about €0.024), Descript Business ($0.027, about €0.024), Gling Elite ($0.017 in a dollar the site does not name) and Gling Pro ($0.022 in a dollar the site does not name) cost less per minute than shortshort Starter (€0.025), and 2short Premium, Descript Creator, Ssemble Business and Gling Elite less than Creator (€0.018). None of the tiers read goes below the Studio plan (€0.013), but that rate means paying €79 a month before VAT.

Sources: 2short.ai/pricing, descript.com/pricing, ssemble.com/pricing, wayin.ai/pricing, gling.ai/pricing.

Yearly billing is not compared here, and others discount it more

This index uses monthly prices. Billed yearly, shortshort saves 20%; the pricing pages of Ssemble (up to 60%), Flowjin (50%), Gling (50%), OpusClip (up to 50%), Vizard (50%), Reap (up to 40%), Choppity (30%) and Wisecut (up to 30%) give larger yearly discounts. A yearly comparison can reorder the table.

Sources: help.ssemble.com/docs/billing/how-credits-work, flowjin.com/pricing, gling.ai/pricing, opus.pro/pricing, vizard.ai/pricing, reap.video/pricing, choppity.com/pricing, wisecut.ai/pricing.

Videos longer or heavier than shortshort takes

shortshort takes one file of up to 2 GB. Submagic (10 GB via API, 3,000 MB in app), OpusClip (10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and up; 10 h per video), Klap (4 h per upload), Vizard (1 GB free, 30 GB on paid; 10 h per video on paid plans), Captions (10 GB for Clips), Kapwing (6 GB paid, 2 GB or 250 MB free), Reap (10 GB on Creator and Studio), Descript (1 GB free, 50 GB on Business) and CapCut (Under 10 GB per video) accept more, according to their own sites.

Sources: care.submagic.co/en/article/what-is-the-size-and-video-length-limit-for-each-video-in-submagic-gl84of, opus.pro/pricing, help.opus.pro/docs/article/video-length, klap.app/tools/video-to-shorts-converter, vizard.ai/pricing, captions.ai/help/docs/project/clips, kapwing.com/help/subscription-faq, docs.reap.video/help-center/how-to-create-viral-clips, descript.com/pricing, capcut.com/editor-tools/long-video-to-shorts.

If you need square or landscape exports

shortshort: it exports 9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feed; there is no 1:1 or 16:9 export. What their own sites say: Submagic, 9:16, 4:5, 1:1, 16:9 or original; OpusClip, 9:16 only, plus 1:1 and 16:9 on Pro; Klap, 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9; Vizard, 9:16, 1:1, 4:5 and 16:9; Captions, 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5; VEED, Portrait or landscape for clips; Kapwing, Presets plus custom sizes, 9:16 default; Reap, 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 on paid plans; Descript, 9:16 and 1:1 presets, more layouts available; SendShort, 9:16; 1:1 and 16:9 on Business; CapCut, 9:16 from 16:9; the editor resizes further.

Sources: submagic.co/features/auto-video-editor, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/podcast-clip-maker, docs.vizard.ai/docs/advanced, captions.ai/help/docs/settings/scale-and-format, veed.io/tools/resize-video, kapwing.com/tools/resize, docs.reap.video/help-center/how-to-create-viral-clips, help.descript.com/repurpose/create-clips-from-your-content, sendshort.ai/pricing, capcut.com/tools/long-video-to-shorts.

If you need the crop to follow whoever is speaking

shortshort: the crop follows the most visible face on screen; it does not tell who is speaking. What their own sites say: OpusClip, Active speaker is identified from voice and motion cues; Klap, Yes, AI Reframe follows the active speaker; Captions, Yes, reframes to follow whoever is talking; Kapwing, Yes, Auto Speaker Focus reframes on speakers; Reap, Auto speaker detection and tracking is ticked for Creator, Studio and Enterprise and dashed for Free, and it only applies when the clip is cropped; Ssemble, Auto layout centres the speaking face and falls back to Fit when no face is found, and a sports mode follows the ball instead of faces; Descript, Center Active Speaker, limited on Free; SendShort, Yes, centers the face of whoever speaks.

Sources: opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/ai-clip-maker, captions.ai/help/docs/project/clips, kapwing.com/ai/auto-speaker-focus, docs.reap.video/help-center/face-tracking, help.ssemble.com/docs/make-clips/advanced-editing-features, descript.com/pricing, sendshort.ai/tools/clip-maker.

If you need to set the crop by hand

shortshort: framing is automatic, with no manual framing controls. What their own sites say: Submagic, Automatic subject centering for portrait videos with manual override; OpusClip, custom reframing from Starter up, moving object tracking on Pro and Business only; Klap, Yes, editor with reframing, captions, templates.

Sources: submagic.co/ai-clip-maker, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/long-video-to-short-video-converter.

If you need translation or dubbing

shortshort: not offered. What their own sites say: Submagic, Translated subtitles only, no dubbing; OpusClip, Dubbing on Pro and Business only; Klap, Yes, captions in 52 languages plus audio translation; Vizard, Subtitle translation on paid plans, dubbing via Agent; Captions, Yes, dubbing in 31 languages, subtitles 100+; VEED, Yes, translation on all plans, dubbing from Pro; Kapwing, Yes, translated subtitles and dubbed audio; Reap, Paid plans only, dubbing in 80+ languages; Ssemble, Translated captions yes, dubbing no; Descript, Captions in 61 languages, dubbing in 30; SendShort, Caption translation, dubbing on the API page only; CapCut, Yes, caption translation; AI dubbing tool.

Sources: submagic.co/features/ai-video-translator, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/video-to-shorts-converter, vizard.ai/tools/video-translator, captions.ai/help/docs/captions/dubbing, support.veed.io/en/articles/12781545-supported-languages-for-dubbing, kapwing.com/tools/translate, reap.video/pricing, ssemble.com, descript.com/pricing, sendshort.ai/pricing, capcut.com/tools/auto-caption-generator.

If you need a virality score

shortshort: none, by design. What their own sites say: Submagic, Yes, AI identifies moments with high virality score; OpusClip, Yes from Starter up, not on Free; Klap, Yes, 0 to 100 score on every clip; Vizard, Yes, viral score from 0 to 10 per clip; Captions, Yes, clips ranked for virality; VEED, Yes, four scores out of 10 per clip; Kapwing, Yes, Growth Score on each suggested clip; Reap, Paid plans only, scored 0 to 10; Ssemble, Yes, a 0 to 100 viral score; Descript, No score stated; AI picks likely viral moments; SendShort, Moments scored, no per-clip score described.

Sources: submagic.co/features/magic-clips, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/ai-clip-maker, docs.vizard.ai/docs/retrieve-video-clips, captions.ai/features/create-clips, veed.io/tools/auto-video-editor/ai-clip-generator, kapwing.com/resources/how-to-automate-short-form-videos-using-ai-2, docs.reap.video/api-reference/get-project-clips, help.ssemble.com/docs/automations/choosing-the-right-clip-settings, descript.com/clips, sendshort.ai.

If you need B-roll, music or titles added

shortshort: none added. What their own sites say: Submagic, Yes, auto b-roll plus stock audio; OpusClip, Yes from Starter, none on Free; Klap, Yes, auto B-roll and B-roll layers in the editor; Vizard, Yes, AI B-rolls on all plans; Captions, Yes, generated b-roll, music and titles; VEED, Yes, AI b-roll plus stock music and video; Kapwing, Yes, auto b-roll, stock, music and titles; Reap, Paid plans only, stock footage and overlays; Ssemble, Yes, b-roll, music, effects, hooks and CTA; Descript, Yes, Quick Design adds B-roll, limited on Free; SendShort, Yes, auto B-roll, sound effects, voice-over; CapCut, Stock footage and music in the editor, no auto B-roll.

Sources: submagic.co/features/b-roll, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/alternatives/opus-clip, vizard.ai/pricing, captions.ai/pricing, support.veed.io/en/articles/11829765-how-to-use-ai-b-roll, kapwing.com/ai/b-roll-generator, reap.video/pricing, help.ssemble.com/docs/make-clips/advanced-editing-features, descript.com/pricing, sendshort.ai/pricing, capcut.com/tools/online-video-editor.

If you need team seats

shortshort: one account, one login. What their own sites say: Submagic, 1 user Starter, 3 Pro, unlimited Business; OpusClip, Pro and Business only, 2 seats on Pro; Klap, Yes, workspaces with roles, on paid plans; Vizard, Business only, $10 per extra seat monthly; Captions, Shared workspace, seats on Enterprise terms; VEED, Yes, 3 editors, 5 on Studio, billed per seat; Kapwing, Yes, and free workspaces can invite members too; Reap, Studio and up, 3 users, 1 seat on Creator; Descript, Up to 3 on Creator, 5 on Business; CapCut, Yes, Teams plan per seat, from 2 seats.

Sources: submagic.co/pricing, opus.pro/pricing, klap.app/tools/ai-video-clipping-tool, vizard.ai/pricing, captions.ai/solutions/marketers-and-agencies, veed.io/pricing, kapwing.com/help/subscription-faq, reap.video/pricing, descript.com/pricing, capcut.com/pricing.

If you need an API

shortshort: none. What their own sites say: Submagic, Yes, 10 min a month, 100 on Business; OpusClip, Limited on Pro, API and custom integrations on Business; Klap, Yes, usage-based Video API; Vizard, Creator and Business only; Captions, Yes, public API billed by usage; VEED, Yes, pay as you go, VEED keys except Subtitles; Kapwing, No REST API; MCP connector on paid plans; Reap, REST API on paid plans, MCP also on Free; Ssemble, Yes, REST API from the cheapest plan; Descript, Paid plans only; also MCP, CLI and Zapier; SendShort, Yes, REST API and MCP connector.

Sources: submagic.co/api, opus.pro/pricing, docs.klap.app/pricing, vizard.ai/pricing, captions.ai/help/docs/api/pricing, veed.io/api, kapwing.com/help/about-the-kapwing-mcp, docs.reap.video/api-reference/1_introduction, ssemble.com/docs, descript.com/api, sendshort.ai/api.

Submagic alternatives: questions people ask

Is there a free Submagic alternative?

Yes. In this list, Reap (60 min every month), Descript (60 min every month), Vizard (60 min every month) and OpusClip (60 min every month) give free minutes every month, according to their own pricing pages, and CapCut (Free plan; long video minutes shown after sign-in), Captions (Permanent, but their pages disagree on its credits), Kapwing (Permanent free plan, watermarked exports) and VEED (Lasting free tier, watermark, AI editing tools try once) also have a lasting free plan. Free plans come with limits such as watermarks or a lower resolution; each tool's section below names them. shortshort gives 30 credits once at sign-up, no card, with up to 3 shorts per video and a watermark: a one-time allowance, not a monthly free plan.

What is cheaper than Submagic?

Submagic does not sell by the minute: its cheapest plan is $38 a month: $19 Starter plus $19 Magic Clips add-on, 10 Magic Clips uploads a month, so what it costs per minute depends on the length of your videos and how many clips you make. By the minute of source video, the lowest entry prices in this list are Ssemble ($0.025), shortshort (€0.025 before VAT) and Reap ($0.028). Tools that sell clips or videos rather than minutes are not ranked, so this does not say they cost more or less, and a price per minute says nothing about quality. Every plan is in the price per minute index.

How were these Submagic alternatives chosen?

They are AI clip makers that sell long-to-short clipping by the minute in the shortshort price per minute index, plus widely used clip and caption tools, each read on its own site. The table is sorted by the price per minute of each tool's cheapest paid plan that cuts long videos into shorts; it does not rank quality. This list is written by the maker of shortshort, one of the tools in it.

The fastest comparison is your own video.

30 free credits, given once, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.