shortshort
AUTOSHORTS ALTERNATIVE

shortshort vs AutoShorts.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts that end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.05 per minute of video. Below: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

60 free credits, no cardUp to 3 hours per videoMP4 · 1080 × 1920

shortshort vs AutoShorts: the short answer

shortshort turns one video of up to 3 hours into 9:16 shorts that end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic emphasis zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.05 per minute of source video. 60 minutes are free, no card.

AutoShorts is an AI video clipper for TikTok, Reels and Shorts. It may fit better for bigger files, link import, B-roll, music, titles; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.05 here, $6.99 one time for 10 credits, no subscription at AutoShorts
Free plan
Yes, permanent here, trial only at AutoShorts
Longest video
3 h per video here, 90 min with a pack at AutoShorts

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Priced by the minute, not by the short

€0.05 per minute on Starter, whatever the number of shorts. 60 minutes are free at sign-up, no card.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and keeps complete, quotable passages: a short opens and closes on a sentence, never mid-thought.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop tracks the face on screen and adds emphasis zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The AutoShorts column is derived from AutoShorts's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. autoshorts.app, not to be confused with the AI faceless-video generator of a similar name.

CriterionshortshortAutoShorts
Getting the video in
Longest video3 h per videoOne file of up to 3 hours, on every plan.90 min with a pack, 15 min on the free trial [1]Clips themselves are cut to 15 to 60 seconds; the separate transcript tool states no length cap at all.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.2.5 GB with a pack, 300 MB on the free trial [1]The caption tool page states a lower free cap of 250 MB, and one clipper page states a flat 2.5 GB with no free tier mentioned.
How the video gets inFile upload onlyNo YouTube or Drive link import; the file leaves your disk.Upload MP4, MOV, WebM or paste a YouTube link [1]One page also lists AVI; private, members only, age restricted and live YouTube videos do not work, and there is no text to video or cloud connector.
What comes out
Crop follows the speakerFace and scene trackingThe 9:16 crop moves with the speaker; slides and wide shots stay full frame; framing set automatically.Yes, face tracking with smooth reframing [2]It reads the picture, not the audio, so it follows one face rather than deciding who speaks; with no face detected it fits to width and blurs the back.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import.Yes, but burning them into a clip needs a pack [3]Clips arrive without captions; burning them in and the deeper style edits both need a pack; six styles on most pages, four animations and ten fonts on one.
Aspect ratios9:16 only9:16 vertical; 1:1 and 16:9 only on the homepage [4]The feature page, tool pages and their llms.txt all say every clip is output 9:16; the homepage alone claims three ratios and an editor switch.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920, 30 fpsH.264, rendered in the browser or on the server on Creator and Studio.Your source resolution, 720p on the free trial [4]No fixed cap is stated and nothing is upscaled, so a 4K upload stays sharp; packs promise HD exports without defining HD, and no frame rate is given.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, free, no account neededBounds, caption words, caption style and title.Yes, a light clip editor, no timeline [1]Switch caption style, fix caption text, add AI hooks and set caption position before the render; changing style after a job costs another credit.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Not stated on their site
Edit exportJSON edit plan, Studio planFor rendering on your own server; no Premiere or DaVinci export.No NLE export, captions baked into the MP4 [5]No SRT or VTT, no XML, EDL or project file; only the separate transcript tool exports TXT, PDF and JSON, and not for uploaded clips.
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions are in the language spoken in the video.Not offered [3]Subtitles are written in whatever language is spoken, never translated; no dubbing or voice cloning appears anywhere on the site.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Scored internally, no score shown per clip [6]The AI scores moments for emotional impact, humour and shareability, but no page says a number or ranking is displayed, and you cannot pick the clips.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.AI text hooks only, no b-roll, stock or music [1]A short hook can be burned over the opening seconds; there is no stock library, no music bed and no overlay media.
Publishes to socialDownload and post yourselfOne MP4 per short, or one ZIP with every short with and without captions; nothing is published from the studio.Yes, publish from the dashboard, free on trial [1]Platform lists differ across their pages, from TikTok only to TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook and Telegram; scheduling unlocks with a credit pack.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginNo seats, credits shared on one account [7]Their FAQ says credits can be used by anyone with access, which means sharing one login; no page mentions seats, roles, invitations or a workspace.
APINoneNot stated on their site
Free plan60 credits, no cardPermanent: up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free trial of 3 credits, no card [8]Trial clips are watermarked and uploads capped at 15 minutes, 300 MB and 720p; captioning a clip, scheduling and deeper caption styles need a pack, posting does not.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 240 minutes.One time credit packs, no subscription [8]Four packs from 6.99 to 89.99 US dollars, credits never expire, 1 credit per clip; no monthly or yearly billing exists anywhere on the site.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each AutoShorts cell, as read on their site
Longest video
"Free trial: up to 15 minutes and 300 MB. With any credit pack: up to 90 minutes and 2.5 GB." VERIFIED verbatim on the homepage FAQ and consistent on /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker, /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker and /en/tools/ai-caption-generator. Individual clips are cut to 15–60 seconds (/en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker: "Segments are chosen between 15 and 60 seconds"). The transcript tool has no stated length cap at all: "a three-minute clip and a three-hour podcast both cost one credit" (/en/transcripts). [1]
Largest file
"MP4, MOV or WebM , up to 300 MB free, 2.5 GB with any pack" , VERIFIED verbatim, and it is the uploader strapline on 20+ pages. Two inconsistencies on their own domain: /en/tools/ai-video-clipper states a flat "Maximum file size is 2.5GB" with no free tier mentioned, and /en/tools/ai-caption-generator gives a lower free cap in two places: "MP4, MOV or WebM , up to 250 MB free, 2.5 GB with any pack" and "Up to 250 MB and 15 minutes per video while you're on free credits. Any purchase raises that to 2.5 GB and 90 minutes." [1]
How the video gets in
Upload or YouTube link: "MP4, MOV and WebM uploads, or any public YouTube URL." /en/tools/ai-video-clipper is the one page that adds a fourth format: "We support MP4, MOV, WebM, and AVI. You can also paste any YouTube URL for instant import." Explicit exclusions on /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker: "There is no text-to-video or image-to-video here , AutoShorts works from footage you already have", and it "needs speech: a music video gives the model nothing to read". /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker: "Private, members-only, age-restricted and live videos do not [work], because AutoShorts fetches them the same way an anonymous viewer would." CORRECTED: the previous record said no Zoom/Drive/Dropbox/RSS integration is mentioned anywhere , Zoom and Google Meet ARE named, on /en/use-cases/interview-to-clips: "Does it work with remote interviews (Zoom, Google Meet)? Yes! As long as you have a video recording... Record your Zoom or Google Meet call, then upload the file." That is a manual upload, not an integration; no Drive, Dropbox, RSS or cloud-storage connector appears on any page. [1]
Crop follows the speaker
Yes, face tracking rather than active-speaker detection, and they are candid about the difference: "AutoShorts detects faces in every frame and picks one subject to follow for the shot, holding onto it rather than flicking between people. The crop then pans smoothly to keep that person in frame in vertical format. It reads the picture, not the audio , so it follows the person it is tracking rather than deciding who is speaking." VERIFIED verbatim, and repeated on /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker: "It follows a face, not the audio... It reads the picture , it does not listen to decide who is talking." Smoothing: "Framing is smoothed over a 60-frame window". Fallback: "When no face is detected, AutoShorts uses an intelligent fallback: it fits the video to width and adds a blurred background to fill the vertical space", and for crowded shots "busy multi-person shots fall back to a wider layout instead of a bad crop". [2]
Automatic captions
CORRECTED , not automatic on generated clips, and paywalled. The homepage sells captions as part of one pass ("Transcription, moment detection, vertical reframing with face tracking, and animated captions run in one pass"), but both clip tool pages and their own llms.txt say the opposite: "Clips arrive without captions, because you may want to review the cut first... Captioning a clip in place unlocks with any credit pack. On free credits you can still add captions with the separate Captions tool" (/en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker); "Clips arrive without subtitles so you can check the cut first... This is the one thing behind the paywall" (/en/tools/tiktok-video-maker); llms.txt: "Animated word-level captions can be burned into any clip (unlocks with a credit pack)". When present they are word-level and burned in: "Each word highlights individually as it's spoken", timed by "faster-whisper" word-level timestamps, "subtitles are hardcoded into the video file". Default look: "the Anton font at 145px with a white fill, 5px black outline, and 4.5px shadow". Style count is also contradicted: six named styles (Hormozi, MrBeast, Karaoke, Minimal, Bounce, Classic) on the homepage, this page and /en/tools/ai-caption-generator , where the colour descriptions the previous record attributed to THIS page actually live: "Hormozi (white with cyan highlights), MrBeast (yellow with orange), Karaoke (a colour wipe across each word), Minimal (clean, near-white), Bounce (bright with a pop) and Classic (white with yellow)" , but /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker instead offers "Four animations, ten fonts". Languages: "faster-whisper supports 100+ languages with automatic language detection", with a rendering caveat only on the caption tool: non-Latin scripts "fall back to a font that covers them rather than the style's display face" and "Emoji that appear in the transcript are dropped". Deeper style edits (font, both colours, outline weight, size, animation, background box) need a credit pack. [3]
Aspect ratios
Contradicted within their own site. The homepage claims three, in three separate places: "3 aspect ratios (9:16, 1:1, 16:9)", "9:16, 1:1 or 16:9", and the editing FAQ "change the aspect ratio (9:16, 1:1, 16:9)". Every other page on the domain says the output is vertical only: /en/features/auto-reframing, "AutoShorts converts any input aspect ratio (16:9, 4:3, ultrawide, etc.) to 9:16 vertical format" and "Every clip is output as 9:16 vertical at your source resolution"; their machine-readable llms.txt agrees, "Reframes to vertical 9:16 at the source video's height". I grepped all 41 non-blog pages: "1:1" appears ONLY on the homepage , no feature, tool or use-case page mentions a square or landscape output. [4]
Export
No fixed number stated: "All clips are output in 9:16 vertical at your source resolution. The AI preserves as much quality as possible from the original source." Tool pages give examples rather than a cap: "The output is 9:16 at your source's height, so a 4K upload stays sharp. Nothing is upscaled to hit a fixed number" (/en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker) and "a 1080p recording stays 1080p" (/en/tools/linkedin-video-maker, /en/tools/instagram-reels-maker). Free trial is capped at 720p; packs promise "HD quality exports" without defining HD. No output frame rate is stated anywhere , the one "60fps" on the site is a feature heading, "60fps Smooth Tracking", on /en/features/auto-reframing, whose body describes the 60-frame crop-smoothing window rather than an output frame rate. [4]
Manual editor
A light post-generation editor, not a timeline: "Yes. Switch between 6 caption styles, change the aspect ratio (9:16, 1:1, 16:9), add AI text hooks and effects, and regenerate captions and hashtags. You can also download any clip and finish it in your own editor." The homepage's phrase is "no timeline editing required"; the "Four steps, no timeline" heading the previous record also attributed here is from /en/tools/ai-caption-generator. Caption text can be fixed: "If a caption comes out wrong, the clip editor lets you correct the text directly." Caption position is set before the render , "drag the caption on the live preview, or use the position slider, before the job starts" , and redoing it is not free: "Switching style after a job has run means running it again, which costs another credit." Adding captions to a finished clip is "one button on any clip", but unlocks with a credit pack. Post-generation copy is editable: "The caption is pre-filled when you post and you can rewrite any of it." One throughput limit worth knowing: "There is no bulk queue , a second video has to wait for the first to finish" (/en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker). [1]
Brand presets
Not stated on their site.
Edit export
No project file, sidecar or edit plan for video , the deliverable is a flat file: "A single MP4 with the captions rendered into the picture. Not a sidecar file, not a player setting , the words are part of the video", and "No SRT or VTT export yet , the captions come baked into the MP4" (repeated in the FAQ and in llms.txt). No Premiere, DaVinci, Final Cut, XML, EDL or JSON edit export is mentioned on any page. CORRECTED nuance: the site is not export-free , the separate transcript product does export structured data, "download it as TXT, PDF or JSON", where the JSON is "every caption cue with its start time and duration, plus the video metadata. For when you are feeding it to something else" (/en/transcripts, "Nothing is locked behind a higher plan"). That is a transcript, not an edit plan, and it is not available for uploaded clips. [5]
Translation or dubbing
Not offered, and stated explicitly: "Subtitles will be generated in whatever language is spoken in the video." /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker repeats it twice: "the caption is written in whatever language is spoken in the video rather than translated into English" and "If the interview is in Spanish, the caption is in Spanish. It is written from the transcript, not translated from an English template." /en/tools/ai-caption-generator: "Language is detected automatically , you don't pick one." VERIFIED: I grepped all 41 non-blog pages for translate/dub/voice/clone , no dubbing, voice cloning or translated-subtitle feature exists. (The site's own UI is translated into nine languages, and the transcript tool can switch between the caption tracks a YouTube video already has , neither is translation of the user's video.) [3]
Virality score
Scoring happens internally, but no user-facing score or ranking is described anywhere: "AI scores each moment for emotional impact, controversy, humor, and shareability"; "Our AI analyzes the full transcript looking for emotional hooks, surprising statements, controversial opinions, humor, and actionable advice"; homepage, "scores the transcript to find the segments most likely to hold attention". VERIFIED , no page states a numeric score is shown per clip. The site also says you do not choose: "The AI generates all identified clips automatically. You can then review, download, and share the ones you like best." One hint of an internal ordering, on /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker: "You get as many as you have credits for; the rest stay listed on the job so you can unlock them later" , but no score is said to be displayed. [6]
B-roll, music, titles
No b-roll, stock footage or music. Only AI text overlays: "AI text hooks & effects", and "A short hook you can burn over the opening seconds" (/en/tools/ai-caption-generator). The homepage describes the whole pipeline as "Transcription, moment detection, vertical reframing with face tracking, and animated captions run in one pass." VERIFIED by grepping all 41 non-blog pages for b-roll / stock footage / background music / soundtrack: the only hits are an AI-generated blog post title about B-roll, and "background music" named as a cause of transcription errors. No stock library, no music bed, no overlay media. [1]
Publishes to social
Yes, and the site gives four different platform lists. Homepage: "Connect TikTok, Instagram, YouTube Shorts, Facebook or Telegram and publish directly from the dashboard , or use AI scheduling, which spreads your clips across each platform's peak engagement hours over the coming days." /en/features/multi-platform-export: "Direct publishing is currently available for TikTok. For other platforms, you can download clips and copy the platform-specific captions we generate" , and /en/use-cases/social-media-repurposing agrees, pointing you to "Buffer, Later, Hootsuite, etc." Their llms.txt gives a third list: "Publish directly to a connected TikTok or YouTube account, or download." /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker gives a fourth: "Connect YouTube and upload a finished Short to it directly. TikTok, Facebook and Telegram connect the same way" , no Instagram. Gating, which the previous record had backwards in part: posting is free , "Unlike captioning and scheduling, posting to TikTok is not gated behind a purchase" (/en/tools/tiktok-video-maker) , while scheduling is paid: "scheduling unlocks with any credit pack. Those windows are fixed per-platform defaults, not a prediction about your audience" (that quote is from /en/tools/youtube-shorts-maker, not the homepage). TikTok publishing runs through "TikTok's official Content Posting API". [1]
Team seats
No seats, roles or workspaces , just one shared credit balance. Asked "Can multiple team members use it?" the site answers: "Yes! Credits are shared across your account and can be used by anyone with access. Perfect for marketing teams repurposing webinar content." VERIFIED verbatim, and it is the only team-related statement on the domain. Worth flagging before quoting it in a comparison: "anyone with access" means sharing one login, and their own Terms of Service say "You may not share your account credentials with third parties" (/en/terms-of-service). No page mentions seats, per-user pricing, invitations, roles or a shared workspace. [7]
API
Not stated on their site.
Free plan
Yes, a free trial rather than a recurring free plan , and it is 3 free CREDITS, not 3 clips per se: "Start with 3 free clips , no card required. Free clips are watermarked and capped at 15-minute videos in 720p; any pack removes all of that" (/en/pricing), but /en/transcripts says "The same credits work across transcripts, clips and captions, so spend them on whichever you need". Homepage FAQ: "You get 3 free clips with no credit card. Trial clips carry a small watermark, and trial uploads are capped at 15 minutes, 300 MB and 720p." Three things are gated behind a purchase: burning captions into a generated clip ("This is the one thing behind the paywall: captioning a clip in place needs a credit pack", /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker), scheduling, and the deeper caption style edits. Posting to TikTok is explicitly NOT gated: "Posting is available on the free trial; scheduling posts for later needs a credit pack." Watermark is described as "a small watermark" on the homepage but as "two scrolling autoshorts.app bands cross the video" on /en/tools/ai-caption-generator, which adds: "We'd rather you know that now than after the render." [8]
How you pay
One-time credit packs, no subscription: "Pay once, use forever. No subscriptions, no hidden fees. Just credits that never expire." and "Each short costs 1 credit. Longer videos typically generate more shorts, so they naturally cost more credits overall. Credits never expire." Payment via Stripe; no monthly or yearly billing exists (I grepped the raw HTML of all 41 non-blog pages: every "monthly"/"per month" hit is about a competitor's subscription or about affiliate payouts, never about AutoShorts' own billing). The rate differs per product, all drawn from one balance: 1 credit per clip (pricing page), 1 credit per transcript regardless of length (/en/transcripts: "a three-minute clip and a three-hour podcast both cost one credit"), and "1 credit ≈ 5 minutes" of video for the standalone captioner (/en/tools/ai-caption-generator, echoed in llms.txt). Credits are charged up front and refunded automatically if a job fails. [8]

What a month costs

shortshort prices before VAT, from the product. AutoShorts plans as listed on their pricing page [8].

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card60 welcome credits, one hour of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month240 min of video a month, 4 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkPrivate exports: nothing posted to the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month800 min of video a month, 13 h 20Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoRenders on our servers: close the tab and come back to finished shorts
  • Studio€79 a month3,000 min of video a month, 50 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

AutoShorts

  • Free trial (3 credits)$03 credits, shared across clips and captionsUploads capped at 15 minutes, 300 MB and 720pClips carry a watermarkCaptioning, scheduling and deeper styles need a packPosting to TikTok works on the trial
  • Starter Pack$6.99 one time, USD10 video credits, no expiration0.70 per credit, try the full experienceNo watermarks and HD quality exportsAI edit, viral hooks and styled subtitlesVideos up to 90 minutes
  • Small Pack$19.99 one time, USD40 video credits, no expiration0.50 US dollars per creditNo watermarks, videos up to 90 minutesAI edit, viral hooks and styled subtitlesEmail support
  • Medium Pack$39.99 one time, USD100 video credits, no expiration0.40 per credit, their most popular packNo watermarks, videos up to 90 minutesAI edit, viral hooks and styled subtitlesPriority email support
  • Large Pack$89.99 one time, USD250 video credits, no expiration0.36 per credit, their cheapest rateNo watermarks, videos up to 90 minutesAI edit, viral hooks and styled subtitlesPriority email support
As written on their pricing page
Free trial (3 credits): $0 USD
Pricing page: "Start with 3 free clips — no card required. Free clips are watermarked and capped at 15-minute videos in 720p; any pack removes all of that." Homepage FAQ: "You get 3 free clips with no credit card. Trial clips carry a small watermark, and trial uploads are capped at 15 minutes, 300 MB and 720p.". CORRECTED: it is 3 free CREDITS, not 3 clips as such. /en/transcripts: "The same credits work across transcripts, clips and captions"; /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker: "Credits are shared with captions and transcripts." So 3 credits = 3 clips, or 3 transcripts, or ~15 minutes of captioning. Also gated on the trial, which the previous record missed: captioning a clip in place requires a pack ("This is the one thing behind the paywall", /en/tools/tiktok-video-maker), as does scheduling; posting to TikTok is NOT gated ("Posting is available on the free trial"). Not a plan on the grid — it sits under the four packs as "Not ready to buy?". Free upload cap differs by tool: 300 MB on the clipper, 250 MB on /en/tools/ai-caption-generator. Watermark severity is described inconsistently: "a small watermark" (homepage) vs "two scrolling autoshorts.app bands cross the video" (caption tool).
Starter Pack: $6.99 one-time, USD (no monthly or yearly billing exists anywhere on the site)
"10 video credits", "No expiration", "No watermarks", "AI Edit & Viral Hooks", "Styled Subtitles", "HD quality exports", "Up to 90-minute videos". Labelled "$0.70/credit" and "Try the full experience". 1 credit = 1 clip on the clipper. CORRECTED currency: USD is stated by them, not assumed — the pricing page's own server-rendered JSON-LD carries "priceCurrency":"USD" on all four Offers (price "6.99"), and /es/pricing shows the same USD figures.
Small Pack: $19.99 one-time, USD
"40 video credits", "No expiration", "No watermarks", "AI Edit & Viral Hooks", "Styled Subtitles", "HD quality exports", "Up to 90-minute videos", "Email support". Labelled "$0.50/credit" and "Save 28%". Strapline is "Perfect for trying out the platform" — which sits oddly next to the cheaper Starter Pack's "Try the full experience". JSON-LD: price "19.99", priceCurrency USD.
Medium Pack: $39.99 one-time, USD
"100 video credits", "No expiration", "No watermarks", "AI Edit & Viral Hooks", "Styled Subtitles", "HD quality exports", "Up to 90-minute videos", "Priority email support". Labelled "$0.40/credit", "Save 43%" and "Most Popular". JSON-LD: price "39.99", priceCurrency USD, priceValidUntil 2026-12-31.
Large Pack: $89.99 one-time, USD
"250 video credits", "No expiration", "No watermarks", "AI Edit & Viral Hooks", "Styled Subtitles", "HD quality exports", "Up to 90-minute videos", "Priority email support". Labelled "$0.36/credit" and "Save 49%". All packs carry a "30-day money-back guarantee" and "Secure payment with Stripe". JSON-LD: price "89.99", priceCurrency USD.

The verdict

shortshort for the price per minute, the cuts and the framing; AutoShorts when you need bigger files or link import. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Free planYes, permanent, 60 credits, no card, no expiry; AutoShorts: Trial only, Trial: 3 credits, watermarked, 15 min, 720p.
  • Longest video3 h per video, on every plan; AutoShorts: 90 min with a pack.
  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short opens and closes on a sentence boundary, with a 25% margin around the target length; nothing ends mid-thought.
  • Framing that follows the face, with emphasis zoomsFace and scene tracking move the 9:16 crop; zooms between x1.0 and x1.6 add motion; slides and wide shots stay whole.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • A free manual editor, no account neededBounds, caption words, caption style and title; the MP4 export works without signing in.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where AutoShorts may fit better

  • Bigger files [1]2.5 GB with a pack against 2 GB here. The caption tool page states a lower free cap of 250 MB, and one clipper page states a flat 2.5 GB with no free tier mentioned.
  • Link import [1]Upload MP4, MOV, WebM or paste a YouTube link. One page also lists AVI; private, members only, age restricted and live YouTube videos do not work, and there is no text to video or cloud connector.
  • B-roll, music, titles [1]AI text hooks only, no b-roll, stock or music. A short hook can be burned over the opening seconds; there is no stock library, no music bed and no overlay media.
  • Publishes to social [1]Yes, publish from the dashboard, free on trial. Platform lists differ across their pages, from TikTok only to TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook and Telegram; scheduling unlocks with a credit pack.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it with its transcript.

Frame of the original video: The Sun Doesn't Stop for Anyone2:04:55 · original10 MOMENTS

3 of 10 shorts shown · The Sun Doesn't Stop for Anyone · watch it in the community, with the transcript

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the speaker

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

shortshort in 55 seconds

The whole flow, from the drop to the MP4, in one silent video with captions in the picture.

55 seconds, no sound, captions in the picture.

Questions people ask

Is shortshort a good AutoShorts alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one video of up to 3 hours into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the free plan and up to 20 on Studio, cut on complete sentences, framed on the speaker and captioned word by word in one of four styles. If that is the job, try it with the 60 free credits and compare the result with what you get from AutoShorts.

How does shortshort pricing compare with AutoShorts?

shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts. Starter is 12 EUR for 240 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 800 and Studio 79 EUR for 3,000, and every account starts with 60 free credits. AutoShorts's own plans, as written on their pricing page, are listed on this page under "What a month costs".

Can I try shortshort before leaving AutoShorts?

Yes. The 60 free credits cover a one-hour video with up to 3 shorts, no card needed. Your source video stays private; only the shorts you export join the community, and every paid plan lets you keep them out of it.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 60 minutes are free, no card. Your source video stays yours; the shorts you export join the community, and any paid plan keeps them out of it.