shortshort
COMPARISON

WayinVideo alternative: shortshort vs WayinVideo.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT. Below, side by side with WayinVideo (also known as Wayin AI or Wayin Video): the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs WayinVideo: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT. 30 minutes are free, no card.

WayinVideo is an AI video workspace that turns long recordings into clips, summaries, transcripts and captions. It may fit better for bigger files, a crop that follows whoever is speaking, square or landscape exports; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here, $0.028 at WayinVideo

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Priced by the minute of source

€0.025 per minute on Starter, before VAT, whatever the number of shorts, up to 20 per video on the Studio plan. $0.028 per minute at WayinVideo ($13.99 a month, Starter); the pricing section below puts both side by side.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The WayinVideo column is derived from WayinVideo's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. WayinVideo is a video AI workspace (summaries, transcripts, moment search) where clipping is one tool. Its pricing page opens on yearly billing with a first-year discount; monthly prices are read from the Monthly toggle.

CriterionshortshortWayinVideo
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file sizeOne file of up to 2 GB, on every plan; how many hours fit depends on the bitrate.Over 10 hours, no cap stated [1] [2]Their clip maker page says it takes videos over 10 hours; plan limits apply to AI auto reframe, 10 min on Free up to unlimited on Scale.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.10 GB on Starter, 30 GB on Pro and Scale [2] [3]No local upload on Free, which takes video by link only.
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Upload or link: YouTube, TikTok, Drive, Zoom, more [4] [3]Links from YouTube, Vimeo, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, X, Twitch, Zoom, Loom, Google Drive, Dropbox and more; MP4, MOV, WebM uploads on paid plans.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.Yes, AI Reframe follows faces and speakers [5] [6]Keeps faces and subjects centered and switches layouts as speakers change: split, trio, grid, picture-in-picture, screen first, gameplay.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, animated, 100+ languages, SRT export [2] [7]All subtitle styles on paid plans and a free set on Free, bilingual subtitles, speaker colors; TXT, SRT and VTT export.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 on every plan [2] [8]The comparison table lists all four ratios on every plan, Free included; the API outputs the same four.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.720p on Free up to 4K on Scale [2] [9]720p on Free, 1080p on Starter, up to 2K on Pro, up to 4K on Scale, in MP4 and never above the source resolution.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes, editor and text-based editing on all plans [2] [10]Basic editor on Free, advanced on paid plans; trimming, reframing, subtitles and text use no credits.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.Yes, brand kit from Pro, templates from Starter [2] [11]Brand kit with logo and colors on Pro and Scale; 1, 3 or 10 custom templates; custom fonts on Pro and Scale.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.Not stated on their site
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Subtitle translation yes, dubbing no [12] [13]Subtitles translate into 100+ languages; their help center says voice translation and dubbing are not offered yet.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes, a score on every clip [2] [14]Free shows the overall score; paid plans add grades for hook, story, value, engagement and reach.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.Yes, AI B-roll, music and hooks from Pro [2] [1]AI image and video B-roll, AI music and a royalty-free library, AI hook generation and speech enhancement on Pro and Scale.
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.Yes, scheduled auto-publish from Pro [2] [15] [16]Starter posts manually to 3 accounts; Pro schedules to 10 accounts and Scale to 50, on TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, X and LinkedIn.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginScale only, 4 seats [2]Team workspace with 4 seats and owner, admin and member roles on Scale; Enterprise seats are tailored.
APINoneYes, pay-as-you-go API from $10 [8] [1]Prepaid API units that never expire, bought apart from the plans: clipping, moment search, transcription, captions, reframe.
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Yes, 100 credits once, no card [2] [10]Given once at sign-up: 720p export, clips exportable for 3 days, no local upload, no auto-post; no watermark on any plan.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Credits, 1 credit = 1 minute of source video [2]500, 1,000 or 6,000 credits a month; yearly plans give the whole year upfront; unused credits do not roll over, monthly or yearly.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each WayinVideo cell, as read on their site
Longest video
No cap stated for clipping: "Our clip maker supports extra-long videos, even ones over 10 hours long."; plan limits apply to "AI auto reframe" ("Up to 10 min" on Free, "Up to 30 min" on Starter, "Up to 120 min" on Pro, "Unlimited" on Scale) and to AI Montage input [1] [2]
Largest file
"Max file upload" "10 GB" on Starter, "30 GB" on Pro and Scale; no local upload on Free (help center: "WayinVideo supports local video uploads on paid plans and link imports from supported sources.") [2] [3]
How the video gets in
Link or file: "Paste video links from YouTube, Vimeo, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, X, Twitch, Dailymotion, Medal, Rumble, Kick, Zoom, Loom, Google Drive, or Dropbox, or upload MP4, MOV, and WebM files."; the help center adds AVI; device and cloud uploads on paid plans only [4] [3]
Crop follows the face
Yes: AI Reframe "identifies faces, people, and motion, then keeps your hero perfectly centered"; for interviews "AI detects speaker shifts, shuffles between duo, trio, and roundtable layouts"; help center layouts: Auto, Full, Fit, Split, Trio, Grid, PiP, Screen First, Gameplay [5] [6]
Automatic captions
"AI animated subtitles in 100+ languages"; comparison table: "Free subtitle styles" on Free, "All subtitle styles" on paid plans, bilingual subtitles, "Speaker-based subtitle colors", "Subtitle export formats" "TXT, SRT, VTT"; long-to-short page: "Generate 98% accurate subtitles synchronized with your speech" [2] [7]
Aspect ratios
"Aspect ratio support" "All supported: 9:16, 16:9, 1:1, 4:5" on every plan, Free included; the API outputs "MP4 clips based on your chosen aspect ratios (9:16, 16:9, 1:1, 4:5)" [2] [8]
Export
"Max export quality" "720p" (Free), "1080p" (Starter), "Up to 2K Ultra HD" (Pro), "Up to 4K Cinematic" (Scale); MP4 export; help center: "Your export resolution cannot be higher than the original source video resolution." [2] [9]
Manual editor
Yes: "Online editor" "Basic" on Free, "Advanced" on paid plans, with "Text-Based Editing"; help center: trim, resize and reframe, subtitles and text: "These basic editing actions are available on every plan, including Free, and do not use credits." [2] [10]
Brand presets
From Pro: "Brand Kit to save and apply brand assets", comparison table "Brand kit (logo & colors)"; custom templates "1 template" (Starter), "3 templates" (Pro), "10 templates" (Scale); custom font upload "Up to 5 fonts" (Pro), "Unlimited" (Scale) [2] [11]
Edit export
Not stated on their site.
Translation or dubbing
Subtitle translation, no dubbing: the video translator "transcribes and translates subtitles into 100+ languages"; help center: "WayinVideo does not currently offer voice translation or dubbing." and "Voice translation and dubbing are planned for a future release." [12] [13]
Virality score
Yes: "AI Clipping with virality score"; comparison table "Virality score" "Overall only" on Free, "Detailed" on paid plans; help center: "Every generated clip includes an overall numeric score, such as 99/100." with paid breakdowns across "Hook, Story, Value, Engagement, and Reach" [2] [14]
B-roll, music, titles
Yes, from Pro: "AI image/video B-roll for clips", "AI music generation & royalty-free audio library", "AI hook generation", "AI speech enhancement"; clip maker page: custom B-roll video "with Sora, Veo, Kling, and Wan" [2] [1]
Publishes to social
Yes: Starter "Connect 3 social accounts" with "Manual publishing"; Pro "Connect 10 social accounts" and "Auto-publish up to 50 scheduled posts"; Scale "Connect 50 social accounts", bulk schedule "Up to 300 posts per day"; Free: "No Social Media Auto-Post"; scheduler FAQ: "direct publishing to TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Instagram Reels, Facebook, and X (Twitter)"; the comparison table's "Supported platforms" row (icons) and the help center add LinkedIn: "WayinVideo currently shows connection options for: YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X/Twitter" [2] [15] [16]
Team seats
Scale only: "Team workspace with 4 seats"; comparison table "User seats" "4 Users", "Workspace roles" "Owner, Admin & Member"; Enterprise: "Flexible credits and team seats tailored to your needs" [2]
API
Yes, prepaid and separate from the plans: "Pay-As-You-Go" "Start from $10", "Top up API credits as you need. No monthly commitment", "No expiration on credits"; AI Clipping, Find Moments, transcription, captions and reframe APIs; tool pages still say "Contact us to enable API access for your organization." [8] [1]
Free plan
Yes, credits given once: "SIGNUP BENEFITS: 100 CREDITS (One-Time)", "No Credit Card Required", "720p HD Export", "Clips exportable for 3 days", "No Bulk Editing", "No Social Media Auto-Post"; comparison table: cloud storage "512 MB, kept 3 days"; help center: "Local uploads and publishing are not available on Free." and "WayinVideo does not add a watermark to exports on any plan." [2] [10]
How you pay
Credits: "1 credit processes 1 min of source video"; on monthly billing "500 credits/month" (Starter), "1,000 credits/month" (Pro), "6,000 credits/month" (Scale); yearly billing gives the year upfront ("6,000 credits/year", "12,000 credits/year", "72,000 credits/year"); monthly plans: "Unused credits don’t roll over."; yearly plans: "Any unused credits from the previous year expire and don’t roll over."; the page opens on yearly billing [2]

WayinVideo pricing (checked 16 October 2026)

WayinVideo plans as listed on wayin.ai/pricing, read on 16 October 2026 [2]. By the minute of source video: $0.028 per minute on WayinVideo's cheapest plan ($13.99 a month, Starter, 500 credits, 1 per source minute), against €0.025 per minute on shortshort Starter, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

WayinVideo

  • FreeFree100 credits once720p export, clips exportable for 3 daysNo local upload, link import onlyOverall virality score onlyNo social auto-post
  • Starter$13.99 a month, $4.99 billed yearly500 credits a month1 credit per minute of source video10 GB uploads, 1080p export3 social accounts, manual publishingYearly price is a first-year offer
  • Pro$26.99 a month, $9.58 billed yearly1,000 credits a monthMarked Most Popular30 GB uploads, up to 2K exportBrand kit, scheduled auto-publishYearly price is a first-year offer
  • Scale$139.99 a month, $69.99 billed yearly6,000 credits a monthTeam workspace with 4 seatsUp to 4K export, 50 social accountsFlexible credit top-ups
  • EnterpriseCustom, contact salesCustom credits and seatsAPI access and custom integrationsPriority support on a dedicated Slack
As written on their pricing page on 16 October 2026
Free: Free ($0, "Free to Use", "No Credit Card Required")
"SIGNUP BENEFITS: 100 CREDITS (One-Time)"; "1 credit processes 1 min of source video". "720p HD Export"; "Clips exportable for 3 days"; cloud storage "512 MB, kept 3 days"; "No Bulk Editing"; "No Social Media Auto-Post"; virality score "Overall only"; help center: no local upload on Free, so video comes in by link
Starter: USD 13.99/month billed monthly; USD 4.99/month billed yearly (shown against a struck-through $13.99, "65% OFF"; the page's structured data: "First year special price: $59.88/year", then "$83.88/year")
"500 credits/month" on monthly billing, "6,000 credits/year" on yearly; "1 credit processes 1 min of source video". "Device and cloud uploads", "Max file upload" "10 GB"; "1080p HD export"; "Connect 3 social accounts" with "Manual publishing"; "1 custom template"; "AI Clipping with virality score"; "AI auto reframe" "Up to 30 min"; cloud storage "50 GB, while subscribed"; "Standard video processing"
Pro: USD 26.99/month billed monthly; USD 9.58/month billed yearly ("65% OFF"; structured data: "First year special price: $114.93/year", then "$161.88/year")
"1,000 credits/month" on monthly billing, "12,000 credits/year" on yearly; their OpusClip comparison page: "Pro and Scale support up to 5× packs". Marked "MOST POPULAR"; "Max file upload" "30 GB"; "Up to 2K ultra-clear export"; "Connect 10 social accounts"; "Auto-publish up to 50 scheduled posts"; "Brand Kit to save and apply brand assets"; "3 custom templates"; "AI image/video B-roll for clips"; "AI hook generation"; "AI auto reframe" "Up to 120 min"; cloud storage "100 GB, while subscribed"
Scale: USD 139.99/month billed monthly; USD 69.99/month billed yearly ("50% OFF"; structured data: "Billed annually at $839.88/year")
"6,000 credits/month" on monthly billing, "72,000 credits/year" on yearly; "Flexible credit top-ups"; their OpusClip comparison page: "Pro and Scale support up to 5× packs". "Team workspace with 4 seats"; "Up to 4K cinematic export"; "Connect 50 social accounts"; bulk schedule "Up to 300 posts per day"; "10 custom templates"; "Unlimited bulk editing and export"; "AI auto reframe" "Unlimited"; cloud storage "150 GB, while subscribed"; "Highest-priority processing"
Enterprise: Custom ("Let's Talk", "Contact Sales")
"Flexible credits and team seats tailored to your needs". Business tab: "EVERYTHING IN SCALE, PLUS:" "API access & custom workflow integrations", "Priority support with a dedicated Slack channel", "Enterprise-level security"

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: WayinVideo or shortshort

shortshort for the cuts; WayinVideo when you need bigger files or a crop that follows whoever is speaking. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • Unused credits never expire on shortshort, even after cancelling [2]Monthly credits roll over from one period to the next, and cancelling keeps the credits you hold; the 30 welcome credits are given once. WayinVideo, on its own site (read on 16 October 2026): "Unused credits don’t roll over".
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where WayinVideo may fit better

  • Bigger files [2] [3]10 GB, 30 GB on Pro and Scale against 2 GB here. No local upload on Free, which takes video by link only.
  • A crop that follows whoever is speaking [5] [6]Yes, AI Reframe follows faces and speakers. Keeps faces and subjects centered and switches layouts as speakers change: split, trio, grid, picture-in-picture, screen first, gameplay.
  • Square or landscape exports [2] [8]9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 on every plan. The comparison table lists all four ratios on every plan, Free included; the API outputs the same four.
  • A crop you set by hand [2] [10]Trimming, reframing, subtitles and text use no credits
  • Translation or dubbing [12] [13]Subtitle translation yes, dubbing no. Subtitles translate into 100+ languages; their help center says voice translation and dubbing are not offered yet.
  • Virality score [2] [14]Yes, a score on every clip. Free shows the overall score; paid plans add grades for hook, story, value, engagement and reach.
  • B-roll, music, titles [2] [1]Yes, AI B-roll, music and hooks from Pro. AI image and video B-roll, AI music and a royalty-free library, AI hook generation and speech enhancement on Pro and Scale.
  • Team seats [2]Scale only, 4 seats. Team workspace with 4 seats and owner, admin and member roles on Scale; Enterprise seats are tailored.
  • API [8] [1]Yes, pay-as-you-go API from $10. Prepaid API units that never expire, bought apart from the plans: clipping, moment search, transcription, captions, reframe.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

WayinVideo alternative: questions people ask

Is WayinVideo free?

Only once. WayinVideo gives a one-time free allowance rather than a monthly free plan, according to its own site. On WayinVideo: yes, 100 credits once, no card. Given once at sign-up: 720p export, clips exportable for 3 days, no local upload, no auto-post; no watermark on any plan (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How much does WayinVideo cost?

WayinVideo's pricing page lists 5 plans. On WayinVideo: Free (100 credits once); Starter, $13.99 a month, $4.99 billed yearly (500 credits a month); Pro, $26.99 a month, $9.58 billed yearly (1,000 credits a month); Scale, $139.99 a month, $69.99 billed yearly (6,000 credits a month); Enterprise, Custom, contact sales (Custom credits and seats) (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). They are listed on this page under "WayinVideo pricing (checked 16 October 2026)". By the minute of source video, that is $0.028 per minute on WayinVideo's cheapest plan ($13.99 a month, Starter), against €0.025 per minute on shortshort Starter, before VAT. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

What is a free alternative to WayinVideo?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good WayinVideo alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. WayinVideo may fit better if you need bigger files, a crop that follows whoever is speaking and square or landscape exports, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from WayinVideo.

How long can a video be on WayinVideo and on shortshort?

On shortshort, one file of up to 2 GB on every plan; the file size is what usually limits, and how many hours fit depends on the bitrate. On WayinVideo: Over 10 hours, no cap stated. Their clip maker page says it takes videos over 10 hours; plan limits apply to AI auto reframe, 10 min on Free up to unlimited on Scale (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How do captions compare between WayinVideo and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On WayinVideo: yes, animated, 100+ languages, SRT export (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

Can I try shortshort before leaving WayinVideo?

Yes. The 30 free credits cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video, no card needed. Your upload and drafts stay private until you export: an exported short is published to the community with its full source video and the transcript of the short, unless your account is set to keep it out, which every paid plan can do.

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.