shortshort
COMPARISON

Spikes Studio alternative: shortshort vs Spikes Studio.

shortshort cuts one long video into vertical shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, frames the face with automatic zooms, and costs €0.025 per minute of video before VAT. Below, side by side with Spikes Studio: the numbers first, then 18 criteria with a check or a cross, then the plans of both.

30 free credits, no cardUp to 2 GB per videoMP4 · 9:16 or 4:5

shortshort vs Spikes Studio: the short answer

shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into 9:16 shorts chosen to end where the sentence ends, framed on the face on screen with automatic zooms, captioned word by word, for €0.025 per minute of source video before VAT. 30 minutes are free, no card.

Spikes Studio finds the best moments in long videos and turns them into clips. It may fit better for square or landscape exports, a crop you set by hand, virality score; the table below says where, with the source.

Price per minute of video
€0.025 here, $32.99 a month, PRO+ (no currency code on the site) at Spikes Studio
Largest file
2 GB per file here; Spikes Studio's site does not say

Facts checked against the product on . Prices before VAT.

Why shortshort

Four things the product does by design; the table below checks the rest, both ways.

Priced by the minute of source

€0.025 per minute on Starter, before VAT, whatever the number of shorts, up to 20 per video on the Studio plan. 30 minutes are free at sign-up, no card.

Cuts that finish the sentence

The AI reads the whole transcript and picks complete, quotable passages, chosen to open and close on a sentence rather than on a timer; the end of each short is checked against the transcript.

Framing that follows the face, with motion

The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen and adds automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole. Framing is automatic; cuts, title and captions stay editable.

One page, nothing to learn

Drop the file, choose how many shorts and how long, check the proposals, export the MP4s. No timeline, no template to configure.

18 criteria, side by side

One line per criterion, the same shape on both sides. The Spikes Studio column is derived from Spikes Studio's own site: the number after a cell points to the source, and the exact wording is under the table.

Reading note. Their pricing page shows a bare dollar sign without naming the currency; prices are reported as read.

CriterionshortshortSpikes Studio
Getting the video in
Longest videoSet by the 2 GB file size, 12 hours at mostOne file of up to 2 GB and at most 12 hours, on every plan; below that, how many hours fit in 2 GB depends on the bitrate.Not stated on their siteThe Add Captions tab of the editor accepts videos up to 5 minutes, but no source cap is stated for clip generation.
Largest file2 GB per fileMP4, MOV or WebM.Not stated on their site
How the video gets inFile upload or a YouTube linkMP4, MOV or WebM from your disk, or a public or unlisted YouTube link of your own, downloaded on our servers at up to 720p with its audio.Link or file upload [1] [2] [3]A link field and a file upload on the homepage; the solutions pages show ten platform logos as video sources, from YouTube to Zoom, but no text list of supported links.
What comes out
Crop follows the faceFollows the face, zooms x1.0 to x1.6The 9:16 crop follows the face with automatic zooms; slides, screens and wide shots stay whole; framing is set automatically.PRO+ and Enterprise only [4]AI Face Tracking and Auto Reframe are checked for PRO+ and Enterprise in the compare table and absent on the free Basic plan.
Automatic captionsWord by word, 4 stylesSpotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal; timed on the audio; SRT import and export.Yes, 99 languages, animated on paid [4] [5]Auto-Captions on every plan; Animated Captions only on PRO+ and Enterprise; the feature page claims auto captions in 99 languages.
Aspect ratios9:16, or 4:5 for the Instagram feedChosen at export for the whole series; a 4:5 export tracks the face again for that frame. No 1:1 or 16:9.9:16, 16:9 or 1:1 via AI reframe [3] [4] [1]The solutions pages say AI reframe turns videos into 9:16, 16:9 or 1:1; Auto Reframe is not on the free Basic plan, and the editor FAQ mentions a vertical reframe.
ExportMP4 1080 × 1920 or 1080 × 1350, 30 fpsH.264, rendered on our servers on every plan: 1080 × 1920 in 9:16, 1080 × 1350 in 4:5.1080p on paid plans, 720p free [4]Basic exports at 720p; PRO+ and Enterprise export at 1080p.
Editing and export
Manual editorYes, on the AI proposals, with a free accountClips and their bounds, title, description, caption words and caption style of each AI proposal; the editor and the MP4 export need a free account.Yes, basic and premium editors [4] [6]Basic editor on the free plan, Premium editor on Enterprise; the Add Captions path handles videos up to 5 minutes for captions, reframe and effects.
Brand presetsOne preset, Studio planCaption colour and font, preselected on every new video.PRO+ and Enterprise only [4] [1]Custom Brand Templates are absent on Basic and checked on PRO+ and Enterprise.
Edit exportJSON edit plan on every planThe studio exports the plan of the open short on every plan; the Studio plan adds the plan of every saved short from My projects.Not stated on their site
Extras
Translation or dubbingNot offeredCaptions in the language spoken, transcribed by OpenAI's whisper-1 (98 languages according to OpenAI); nothing is translated or dubbed.Not stated on their siteThe site mentions transcription in the original language across 99 languages, with no translation or dubbing claim.
Virality scoreNone, by designThe AI keeps complete, quotable sentences; you choose what goes out.Yes, on all plans [4]AI Curation Virality Score is checked for Basic, PRO+ and Enterprise in the compare table.
B-roll, music, titlesNone addedThe short is your video, reframed and captioned.AI B-roll on paid, limited on free [4]B-roll is Limited on Basic and checked on PRO+ and Enterprise; AI-Generated B-roll and Audio & SFX Insertion are absent on Basic.
Publishes to socialYouTube on a calendar, TikTok in early accessConnect a YouTube channel, pick a day and time per short or auto-fill the calendar. TikTok is in early access. One MP4 per short, or a ZIP, for the rest.Direct posting and scheduler, paid plans only [4] [3]PRO+ and Enterprise show YouTube Shorts, X, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and TikTok icons for direct posting and scheduling; the FAQ names four; not on Basic.
Team and price
Team seatsOne account, one loginYes, shared workspaces [1]The site mentions shared workspaces and team collaboration tools; seat counts and plan availability are not stated.
APINoneBy application only [4] [7]The pricing page links an API application form, with no API pricing; docs.spikes.studio lists endpoints, one of which cuts a long video into short clips.
Free plan30 credits once, no cardThe account never expires; the 30 credits are given once, not every month. Up to 3 shorts per video, watermarked, exports join the public community.Free Basic plan, watermark, 720p [4] [1] [8]Basic plan at $0 a month, no card, watermark, 720p and 7 day storage; the pricing FAQ says up to 30 minutes of video a month, the homepage FAQ only demo videos.
How you pay1 credit = 1 minute of videoWhatever the number of shorts. Plans from 12 EUR a month for 480 minutes, before VAT. Unused credits roll over and never expire, even after cancelling.Minutes per month, 300 on PRO+, 1200 on Enterprise [4]Monthly plans give 300 or 1200 minutes a month; annual plans give 3600 or 14400 minutes a year on a flexible credit plan.
  • Offered
  • On some plans, or with a limit
  • Not offered
  • A fact, not a yes or no
  • Not stated on their site
The exact wording of each Spikes Studio cell, as read on their site
Longest video
Not stated on their site.
Largest file
Not stated on their site.
How the video gets in
Link or file upload: homepage form field "DROP A LINK HERE" with "OR UPLOAD FILE"; feature page: "create shorts from a link/computer file with 1 click" and "a designated field for the link/file"; no text list of supported link sources and no cloud drive on the official domain; the seven /solutions pages answer "Where can you source your videos from?" ("Where they can source the videos from?" on /solutions/politics) with an image of ten logos only (Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, YouTube Shorts, Zoom, Google Meet, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Snapchat), without saying whether a source comes in as a link or as an uploaded file [1] [2] [3]
Crop follows the face
"AI Face Tracking" and "Auto Reframe" rows: "-" on Basic, checked on PRO+ and Enterprise [4]
Automatic captions
"Auto-Captions" checked on all three plans; "Animated Captions" "-" on Basic, checked on PRO+ and Enterprise; feature page: "auto captions in a whopping 99 languages" and "Choose an Animated Caption style"; template count and word-level highlighting not stated [4] [5]
Aspect ratios
The seven /solutions pages list "AI reframe": "Automatically reframe your videos to 9:16, 16:9, or 1:1" (Auto Reframe is "-" on Basic in the pricing compare table); FAQ: editor can "reframe it to a vertical view"; homepage: "resizes clips for TikTok, Instagram, or YouTube in seconds", "Multi-format exporting", "Instant resizing tools" [3] [4] [1]
Export
"1080p export" on PRO+ and Enterprise; "720p export" on Basic (free); compare table "Clip Resolution": 720p / 1080p / 1080p [4]
Manual editor
Yes: "Basic editor" (Basic), "Premium editor" (Enterprise); FAQ: "You can use our editor for any video up to 5 minutes in length through the 'Add Captions' tab" to add captions, reframe, add auto-effects; Video Trimmer page: "upload your video, trim with a few clicks" [4] [6]
Brand presets
"Custom Brand Templates": "-" on Basic, checked on PRO+ and Enterprise; Enterprise card lists "Custom templates"; homepage: "Pre-designed brand templates", "Customizable video templates" [4] [1]
Edit export
Not stated on their site.
Translation or dubbing
Not stated on their site.
Virality score
"AI Curation Virality Score" row shows a check for Basic, PRO+ and Enterprise in the compare table [4]
B-roll, music, titles
"AI B-roll" on PRO+ cards; compare table "B-roll": "Limited" on Basic, checked on PRO+ and Enterprise; "AI-Generated B-roll": "-" on Basic, checked on PRO+ and Enterprise [4]
Publishes to social
"Social Media Scheduler" on the PRO+ annual card; FAQ: "connect your social media accounts and schedule your content directly from Spikes Studio" for "LinkedIn, TikTok, Facebook, or YouTube"; compare table rows "Direct Posting to Social Media" and "Social Media Scheduler" show "-" for Basic and, for PRO+ and Enterprise, a row of seven platform icons instead of a check: YouTube Shorts, X, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and TikTok; the /solutions pages add "Social media calendar": "Publish, schedule & manage all your social in one place" [4] [3]
Team seats
"Easily manage multiple clients and share workspaces with your team in seconds", "Team collaboration tools"; seat counts and per-plan availability not stated [1]
API
"Looking to scale up and automate tasks with an API? Apply here" (application link on the pricing page, with no API pricing). Their API documentation on docs.spikes.studio, read on 24 October 2026, lists endpoints such as "Create Auto Edited Clips", which "processes a long-form video, extracting key moments and converting them into separate viral short clips" [4] [7]
Free plan
Yes: "Basic plan" at "$0.00 /month", "No credit card required", "Has watermark", "720p export", "Auto-Captions", "Basic editor", "Access demo clips", storage lifespan "7 days"; pricing FAQ: "a free trial with a monthly free plan that includes up to 30 minutes of video content"; the homepage FAQ answers the same question differently: "Free users can explore and try out our demo videos to see how the platform works." (so do five of the seven /solutions pages; /solutions/church and /solutions/marketers repeat the 30-minute answer) [4] [1] [8]
How you pay
Minutes of upload per month on monthly billing ("300 minutes per month", "1200 minutes per month") or per year on annual billing ("3600 minutes per year", "14400 minutes per year"), described as a "Flexible credit plan"; extra minutes via "referral program and onboarding" [4]

Spikes Studio pricing (checked 16 October 2026)

Spikes Studio plans as listed on spikes.studio/pricing, read on 16 October 2026 [4]. Spikes Studio's cheapest plan is $32.99 a month, PRO+ (no currency code on the site): 300 minutes a month, so its price per minute cannot be compared with shortshort's €0.025 per minute, before VAT. Every plan, per minute, in the price index.

Spikes Studio

  • Basic planFree, $0 a monthDemo clips; pricing FAQ says 30 minutes a monthWatermark and 720p exportAuto-Captions and basic editor7 day storage, no credit card requiredNo face tracking, reframe or brand templates
  • PRO+ (monthly billing)$32.99 a month300 minutes a monthNo watermark, 1080p exportAnimated captions and AI B-rollAI Face Tracking and Auto ReframeCustom Brand Templates, 90 day storage
  • PRO+ (annual billing)$14.09 a month billed yearly3600 minutes a yearNo watermark, 1080p exportAnimated Auto-Captions and AI B-rollSocial Media Scheduler, Music & SFX90 day storage, save up to 57%
  • Enterprise (monthly billing)$115.99 a month1200 minutes a monthCustom templates, 1080p exportFast processing speedAccount managerUnlimited storage
  • Enterprise (annual billing)$56.34 a month billed yearly14400 minutes a yearCustom templates, 1080p exportPremium editorAccount managerUnlimited storage
As written on their pricing page on 16 October 2026
Basic plan: Free ($0.00 /month)
"Access demo clips"; pricing FAQ: "monthly free plan that includes up to 30 minutes of video content" (the homepage FAQ mentions only trying "our demo videos"); storage lifespan "7 days". "Has watermark", "720p export", "Auto-Captions", "Basic editor", "No credit card required"; compare table: B-roll "Limited", "AI Curation Virality Score" checked, processing "Regular speed"; "-" for Animated Captions, AI Face Tracking, Auto Reframe, Custom Brand Templates, Clip Analytics, Audio & SFX Insertion, Custom Clip Length, Topic Search
PRO+ (monthly billing): $32.99/month billed monthly (shown as "$32.99 /month Billed Monthly"; bare $ sign, currency not spelled out)
"300 minutes per month (Only $0.1 per min. Flexible credit plan)"; storage lifespan "90 days". "No watermark", "1080p export", "Animated captions", "AI B-roll", "Gifs & animations", "Transcribe for videos", "Pay with Paypal"; compare table checks AI Face Tracking, Auto Reframe, AI Transitions & Effects, AI-Generated Emojis, Custom Brand Templates, Clip Analytics, Custom Clip Length, Topic Search, Text Overlay, Fonts & Templates; processing "Faster than Free and Trial"
PRO+ (annual billing): $14.09/month billed yearly (shown as "$14.09 /month Billed Anually"; bare $ sign, currency not spelled out)
"3600 minutes per year (Only $0,015 per min. Flexible credit plan)"; storage lifespan "90 days". "No watermark", "1080p export", "Animated Auto-Captions", "AI B-roll", "Social Media Scheduler", "Music & SFX", "Pay with Paypal"; annual toggle labelled "(save up to 57%)"
Enterprise (monthly billing): $115.99/month billed monthly (shown as "$115.99 /month Billed Monthly"; bare $ sign, currency not spelled out)
"1200 minutes per month (Only $0.09 per min. Flexible credit plan)"; storage "Unlimited". "Custom templates", "1080p export", "Fast Processing Speed", "Account manager", "Unlimited storage"; compare table processing "Faster than Starter"
Enterprise (annual billing): $56.34/month billed yearly (shown as "$56.34 /month Billed Anually"; bare $ sign, currency not spelled out)
"14400 minutes per year (Only $0,0015 per min. Flexible credit plan)"; storage "Unlimited". "Custom templates", "1080p export", "Premium editor", "Account manager", "Unlimited storage"; only plan with "Account Manager" checked in the compare table

shortshort

  • Free€0, no card30 welcome credits given once, 30 minutes of videoUp to 3 shorts per videoWatermarked exportExported shorts join the community
  • Starter€12 a month480 min of video a month, 8 hoursUp to 5 shorts per videoNo watermarkOption to keep your exports out of the public community gallery
  • Creator€29 a month1,600 min of video a month, 26 h 40Everything in StarterUp to 10 shorts per videoCredit top-ups of 400, 1,200 or 4,000 credits
  • Studio€79 a month6,000 min of video a month, 100 hoursEverything in CreatorUp to 20 shorts per videoOne brand preset: your caption colors and font, preselected on every new video

Prices before VAT, from the product. Annual billing: Starter €115 a year, Creator €278 a year, Studio €758 a year. Full detail on the pricing page.

The verdict: Spikes Studio or shortshort

shortshort for the cuts and the framing; Spikes Studio when you need square or landscape exports or a crop you set by hand. Both lists come from the table.

Where shortshort comes out ahead

  • Cuts on complete sentencesEach short is cut on word boundaries and aims for the end of a sentence, with a 25% margin around the target length; the ending is checked against the transcript.
  • Framing that follows the face, with automatic zoomsFace and scene tracking move the 9:16 crop; automatic zooms between x1.0 and x1.6; slides and wide shots stay whole.
  • One page, nothing to learnDrop, choose the count and the length, check, export. No timeline or template to set up.
  • A public before-and-after galleryEach short next to the video it came from, with the transcript of each short, so the result can be judged before trying.

Where Spikes Studio may fit better

  • Square or landscape exports [3] [4] [1]9:16, 16:9 or 1:1 via AI reframe. The solutions pages say AI reframe turns videos into 9:16, 16:9 or 1:1; Auto Reframe is not on the free Basic plan, and the editor FAQ mentions a vertical reframe.
  • A crop you set by hand [4] [6]The Add Captions path handles videos up to 5 minutes for captions, reframe and effects
  • Virality score [4]Yes, on all plans. AI Curation Virality Score is checked for Basic, PRO+ and Enterprise in the compare table.
  • B-roll, music, titles [4]AI B-roll on paid, limited on free. B-roll is Limited on Basic and checked on PRO+ and Enterprise; AI-Generated B-roll and Audio & SFX Insertion are absent on Basic.
  • Team seats [1]Yes, shared workspaces. The site mentions shared workspaces and team collaboration tools; seat counts and plan availability are not stated.
  • API [4] [7]By application only. The pricing page links an API application form, with no API pricing; docs.spikes.studio lists endpoints, one of which cuts a long video into short clips.

What shortshort produces, on a real video

A published transformation from the community: the original on top, the shorts it became below. Click one to see it next to the original video.

Frame of the original video (12:14)12:14 · original6 MOMENTS

3 of 6 shorts shown · The Override That Saved Humanity · watch it in the community, with the transcript of each short

Demo footage: Tears of Steel © Blender Foundation, licensed CC BY 3.0. Cut, cropped and captioned by shortshort.

How shortshort cuts, frames and captions

Three things the table can only name. The passage, the frame and the captions below are illustrations; the community shows the real thing.

1 · The cut ends on the sentence

2 · The 9:16 crop follows the face on screen

3 · Captions timed word by word

Spotlight, one of the four caption styles. Impact, Karaoke and Minimal use the same word timing.

Spikes Studio alternative: questions people ask

Is Spikes Studio free?

Yes. Spikes Studio's own site lists a lasting free plan. On Spikes Studio: Free Basic plan, watermark, 720p. Basic plan at $0 a month, no card, watermark, 720p and 7 day storage; the pricing FAQ says up to 30 minutes of video a month, the homepage FAQ only demo videos (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

How much does Spikes Studio cost?

Spikes Studio's pricing page lists 5 plans. On Spikes Studio: Basic plan, Free, $0 a month (Demo clips; pricing FAQ says 30 minutes a month); PRO+ (monthly billing), $32.99 a month (300 minutes a month); PRO+ (annual billing), $14.09 a month billed yearly (3600 minutes a year); Enterprise (monthly billing), $115.99 a month (1200 minutes a month); Enterprise (annual billing), $56.34 a month billed yearly (14400 minutes a year) (their own site, read on 16 October 2026). They are listed on this page under "Spikes Studio pricing (checked 16 October 2026)". Spikes Studio's cheapest plan is $32.99 a month, PRO+ (no currency code on the site): 300 minutes a month, so its price per minute cannot be compared. shortshort charges 1 credit per minute of source video, whatever the number of shorts: Starter is 12 EUR a month for 480 credits, Creator 29 EUR for 1,600 and the Studio plan 79 EUR for 6,000, before VAT, and every account starts with 30 free credits, given once.

What is a free alternative to Spikes Studio?

shortshort can be tried for free: 30 credits given once at sign-up, no card, which cover 30 minutes of video, with up to 3 shorts per video and a small watermark on the export. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the public community gallery by default. It is a one-time allowance, not free minutes every month: the tools that give free minutes every month are listed, with the limits of their free plans, in the price per minute index.

Is shortshort a good Spikes Studio alternative?

It depends on what you need. shortshort turns one long video of up to 2 GB into vertical shorts, 3 per video on the Free plan and up to 20 on the Studio plan, cut on complete sentences, framed on the face on screen and captioned word by word in one of four styles. Spikes Studio may fit better if you need square or landscape exports, a crop you set by hand and virality score, according to its own site. If the job is cutting long talks into shorts, try it with the 30 free credits and compare the result with what you get from Spikes Studio.

How do captions compare between Spikes Studio and shortshort?

shortshort times every word on the audio, in one of four styles (Spotlight, Impact, Karaoke, Minimal), with SRT import and export. On Spikes Studio: yes, 99 languages, animated on paid (their own site, read on 16 October 2026).

Cuts that finish the sentence, at a price by the minute.

The fastest comparison is your own video: 30 minutes are free, no card. Your upload stays private until you export; exported shorts join the community with their source video by default, and any paid plan can keep them out.